17th December – Wilful Ignorance

Lord, it’s not even January yet but my desire to punch someone is reaching critical levels. I don’t know what it is about having to wait ten minutes in a line for food, but people were really taking their complaints and selective hearing to eleven today.

The most memorable case today was a gentleman who ordered six plates of tacos and wanted ‘rice and beans’ to go with them. Since that’s a specific side, I asked him if he wanted six rice and beans to go with the six plates. To which he nodded and said ‘enough rice and beans for the tacos.’

Since he gave a positive confirmation to a question with a number, I put together six beans and rice, and pass them down the line. When I look up from the next customer I’ve served? The man has only taken three of the bowls, leaving the other three on the glass.

The most frustrating thing of all? I saw the man WATCH me bowl up the six bowls. He could have told me at any time that he only wanted three, but chose to stand there and watch me waste 3 portions of beans and rice.

Although considering the complaints we were getting today, maybe it was revenge? Everyone seemed to have a problem with our portion sizes. Now, we are not a cheap restaurant – we’re on top of a mountain, it’s a top rated resort, and there’s little to no competition. As such, prices are high. That said, professional loyalty aside, I think the station portions are pretty good for the price, especially on the Mexican stand. If you choose to have everything in your burrito or salad, that meal can feed two people very easily. Heck, there are dozens who just order one plate for two every day – staff who get FREE meals sometimes just grab the kids meal because they know it’ll fill them. Yet it seemed every single person got frustrated with the amount of anything they were getting. Everyone wanted an extra spoonful of rice, or an extra scoop of meat, or more cheese, and the classic ‘rice and beans’ on tacos in addition to meat (which we’re not supposed to do). For burritos, we can’t add extra because by the time it gets all the other additions, it’s so big it WILL burst, and managers have been breathing down our necks lately about the sizes of our plates – we HAVE to keep them within their requirements, which are by no means skimpy. Not that customers cared, we were being cheapskates or shirkers and ruining their trip by now letting them get three different kinds of meat on their burrito or making them pay for extra rice.

Honestly, by the time I got out of there I needed some retail therapy, and thankfully I had to buy some necessities anyway. First stop was Showcase, so I could buy some staff-discounted thermals. It’s getting colder and colder on our way up the mountain, so I want to be prepared should the weather take the same kind of chill it did last year. Grab a shirt and leggings for about $45 each with the discount, and then head towards a Whistler Blackcomb store to buy something I’ve had my eye on for a while, a new helmet.

Now, I bought a second hand helmet via Facebook in the summer, but lessons have really taught me that it’s not good enough, and maybe I should be investing in a better one. I get a staff discount on helmets too, and I’ve had my eye on one for a few weeks. It sets me back close to $100 after tax even with the discount, but with the amount of falling I’m sure to do, it’ll be well worth the price. The colouring ‘almost’ matches the lining of my ski jacket too, so that’s practically fate.

As a final triumph, I also get to enjoy a roast dinner at 18 Below tonight, which is quickly turning into my favourite staff meal. I love a Sunday roast, especially when I don’t have to cook it.

This entry was posted in Canada, Diary, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment