10th July 2017 – The Dead Day

I didn’t have to wear the restraint, but my hand hurt for the next 72 hours and I decided not to take the job as it was too much of a risk to my wrist.  I did however send someone else I know their way, because they liked the sound of the job, so it hopefully all worked out.

Today was the slowest day we’d had since I started.  If I served more than 20 customers in the 6 hours we were open I’d be very surprised.  Ended up spending the afternoon doing tons of prep, to the point that nobody needed to come in the next morning to get anything ready – we were good for days.

This was mostly due to the weather.  It’s a foggy white out that’s semi-raining outside, and not even the most enthusiastic hiker is going to be out in it today.  Even the grill, normally a constant non-stop queue is quiet today.

I do however take this opportunity to ask my bosses about cross training.  They mentioned it would likely happen so we could throw people wherever a space was open, but wanted people to get used to their main station first.  However, after nearly a month I’m comfortable on Mexican (there is admittedly stuff I still have to learn perfectly, but the service part I’m on top of), so I start questioning whether I can start leaning other stations.

They agree, and promise to add a few different shifts to my schedule.  This is a mixed bag since they plan to put me on Thai, which closes even earlier than we do and as such means I’ll be having to find cleaning work to do in order to get my full hours, but I do that for Mexican anyway, just 30 minutes later, so it’s hardly that much of a stretch to fix.  I do hope the weather improves soon though – it’s not like this rain is going to help the campfire ban (the ground’s so dry it would need a month of rain before it was lifted) so can we get the blinding sun back please?

About Batale

I am an aspiring writer - though since I haven't written anything original in about 2 years, so calling me a writer is like calling a man who makes dinner every night a 5 star chef. I started this blog to force me to write. From the 1st January 2013, I intend to update this blog every day. If nothing interesting happens, I'll write about something that does interest me, whether that is a movie, a book, something I've heard about, or even some of my stories growing up.
This entry was posted in Canada, Diary, Whistler and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

