5th July 2017 – Bike Park

As a member of Whistler Blackcomb, I get a discount on bike rentals.  It’s 25% until 11am, and then 50% onwards.  The biggest risk is if you wait until 11, most of the bikes might be gone – as what happened yesterday.

Thankfully, today there’s still a few bikes in my size left, and I manage to get the bike for a half day, with guards and insurance for $99.  I also discover the singles line at the bike park, so I don’t need to go through the huge line waiting for the chairlift.  Does mean I have to learn how to lift the bike onto the hook on the edge of the lift, but thankfully the lifters help when it’s clear I’m having trouble.

Immediately hit Easy Does It, and problems become obvious in a matter of seconds.  I can’t figure out what’s wrong, but I can’t control myself on the turns and I keep falling out of position.  I try and shake it off and go again, but it keeps happening – several times I skid to a stop and struggle not to crash.

By the time I’m dragging the bike back to the shop so I can have a break, I’m a little depressed.  There’s none of the fun I had on the lesson, and I can’t figure out what I’m doing wrong…until I remember I was wearing my hiking boots and wearing my keens now.  As much as I love these shoes, they’re probably causing my feet to slip on the pedals.  I’ve also taken a bag so I could carry water as well as a jacket, and that means there’s a weight on my back, which means it’s pulling me out of the bent over position since I’m not used to it.

To counter it, I head home for lunch, dump the bag (there’s no need for a jacket and I’ll use the water fountain at the chairlift) and change my shoes so I can have another shot at it.

Amazing, two small changes and I’m back to speeding down the trail with…well not skill but a lot less struggle than I’d been having.  Everything I’d loved about the first lesson came back, and I managed two more laps before I had to stop or risk losing all feeling in my hands.  They’re not used to such heavy use and I was already having to stop to try and get feeling back into them midway down the track.  Will probably skip the trails next week, but definitely do it again sometime.  Apparently, it’s even cheaper if you book after 3:30, so maybe if I get out of work early I can do it then.

In the evening, I’m heading back into town to do something I’ve been wanting to try for a while.  The Whistler Escape Rooms.  Maggie and Maddy both wanted to give it a shot, so at 7pm we were walking in to try their beginner room, Pirate Ship (apparently a common theme in Canada).

Can’t say much about it for the sake of keeping the secrets, but we didn’t do half bad considering we only had 45 minutes instead of the hour I’m used to.  Our biggest issue was getting hung up on one clue when it turned out we didn’t have nearly enough to solve it and needed to open a few other boxes beforehand.  We ended up needing an extension of time to finish it, but only about 3 minutes in order to complete the last few puzzles, so it was still a victory!

19959077_1443047692427138_9181308084631387425_n

We’ve already decided we’re going to try the next difficulty on Tuesday.  Know at least one other person who wants to do it, so maybe we’ll get to a full house for Buried Cabin.

About Batale

I am an aspiring writer - though since I haven't written anything original in about 2 years, so calling me a writer is like calling a man who makes dinner every night a 5 star chef. I started this blog to force me to write. From the 1st January 2013, I intend to update this blog every day. If nothing interesting happens, I'll write about something that does interest me, whether that is a movie, a book, something I've heard about, or even some of my stories growing up.
This entry was posted in Canada, Diary, Whistler and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

