1st July 2017 – Happy Canada Day

P1110396

Happy Canada Day!

Yep, 3 days before America’s Independence Day is Canada’s own national holiday.  There’s music, parades and possibly fireworks happening all day.

Of course, I’m not going to see most of it, as I’m working on Blackcomb for most of it.  Despite it being a holiday weekend, we’re not expecting to be very busy as there’s no events up here.  The Roundhouse has the Vancouver Orchestra playing in the afternoon, so they’ll get the traffic.

Today I’m on with Eli, who’s only done Mexican a few times, but is trained as some kind of prep cook so is more than aware of what to do.  I’m grateful cause it means I can ignore the grill in exchange for creating burritos and tacos.

Oddly enough, despite being dead most of the day, we still end up getting a whole day before getting to head down and check out the village.  I could go check out the orchestra that’s playing at Olympic Village, but I choose to head on back to my flat to get changed and meet up with a few people at Merlin’s Bar, and then head up Staff Hill for the fireworks at 10:30.

However, even though we’re all in place, there are no fireworks to be had.  Turns out later that the fireworks were cancelled due to a fire risk.  Kind of disappointed, but come tomorrow, it turns out to be a very valid concern…

About Batale

I am an aspiring writer - though since I haven't written anything original in about 2 years, so calling me a writer is like calling a man who makes dinner every night a 5 star chef. I started this blog to force me to write. From the 1st January 2013, I intend to update this blog every day. If nothing interesting happens, I'll write about something that does interest me, whether that is a movie, a book, something I've heard about, or even some of my stories growing up.
This entry was posted in Canada, Diary, Whistler, Working Holiday Club and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

