21st June 2017 – Food Safety 101

Today is a full day of training, and at 8:45 Rhonda and I head towards Base 2 for our Back to School day.  From 9-4, we’ll be in classroom learning about Food Safety.  In Canada, you’re not really allowed to work in food and beverage without passing this, so it’s something we need to pay attention to.

P1110265

Unfortunately, that’s easier said than done.  This class just drags on and on – I’m getting flashbacks to my History classes where I struggled to not fall asleep, it’s not the most engaging lecture I’ve ever been in.  Everyone prays for a break, and most of us seem to stay awake by doodling in the books we’ve been gifted that has all the information we need.

P1110266

The one bright side to the class is the videos.  Some of them are ridiculous and dull, but some are case studies, reconstructing incidents at restaurants that went badly wrong and retracing the steps to show how it could be avoided.  I like reconstruction documentaries, so these could actually keep my attention.

The biggest downside though, is we had to speed through several of the sections since they weren’t relevant to 90% of us, but they are in the test.  In hindsight, I should have just read the book (honestly think I would have retained more if I’d done that rather than try to pay attention).

Although had I done that, I would have missed Whistler F&B’s favourite acronym – WYFH!  Which stands for WASH YOUR FUCKING HANDS! (or, when there are guests around, ‘filthy hands’).  If you can remember that, most health issues will be happily avoided.

When it came to do the test, we were given 50 questions (randomised, so nobody could look at their neighbour’s answers), told to close our books and answer multiple choice.

This was a weird situation – most of the questions I was pretty confident about, but there were at least four that were focused on the parts of the book we sped over.  The teacher glossed over them and I’d never read that part of the book, so I had to guess the answers.  The worst part however, was when I was looking at 4 ‘C’ answers in a row, and my logic brain insisted that couldn’t be right.  Yet I would bet significant cash on the first 3 C’s being right, and it was 50/50 on the fourth.  I ended up asking for help (he couldn’t give me the answer, but he could agree with me), and the fourth C was right.

I checked and rechecked, but there were about 10 questions I was apprehensive about.  I know there’s at least one I got wrong, but will hopefully find out in the next few days if I passed, or if I need to retake the test in order to keep my job.

Pushing that worry out of my head for now though.  Tomorrow I’m finally heading up to Rendezvous for my very first proper shift!  Wish me luck!

About Batale

I am an aspiring writer - though since I haven't written anything original in about 2 years, so calling me a writer is like calling a man who makes dinner every night a 5 star chef. I started this blog to force me to write. From the 1st January 2013, I intend to update this blog every day. If nothing interesting happens, I'll write about something that does interest me, whether that is a movie, a book, something I've heard about, or even some of my stories growing up.
This entry was posted in Canada, Diary, Whistler, Working Holiday Club and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

