17th June 2017 – Whistler

I was right, that mattress is gonna kill me.  Mattress padding is number one on the list of things to buy.

Don’t really have a plan for today, but figure I’ll wander round Lost Lake and then go from there.

There’s plenty of places to hike and explore in Whistler, but one of the easiest routes is most like Lost Lake, since the majority of it is paved and only takes about 20 minutes to get there, then 20 minutes to do the loop.

P1110201

Lost Lake is beautiful – a small(ish) lake in the mountains.  In July and August, it’s the perfect place to swim, but right now it’s a little too cold, so look and don’t touch.  I loop around the lake, heading down the nature trails and appreciating the flowers, before heading back into town.

It’s going to be a while before we can get a delivery here, but the girl at the reception tells me there is one second hand shop in town.  It needs a bus ride, but it’s right next to the recycling centre, and will probably have some things that I need.  Thankfully Canada’s a friendly enough place that the bus drivers will even announce what stop when you’re unfamiliar with the area, and I got off without issue, despite having no clue where I was.

The Reuse It Centre is the closest thing Whistler has to a charity shop.  Attached to the recycling centre, people drop off anything that still has some life in it and sell on.  It’s mostly clothes, but has bedding, electronics, bikes and kitchen wear.  I first start looking at pots and pans – there’s two pots that might be worth grabbing, and some cutlery, but I’m reluctant to buy for some reason.  Maybe I’ll come back when I’m absolutely certain what I need.

I do however manage to find the jackpot in a comforter (they only get in a few and I managed to grab one in great condition), a few cushions for the living room, a lighter jacket so I don’t have to keep wearing my winter one, some glasses and a few mugs, so it’s definitely not a total loss.

Not sure what I’ll do tomorrow – probably try and go up the chairlift and see the Rendezvous before I have to work there, but we’ll see.

About Batale

I am an aspiring writer - though since I haven't written anything original in about 2 years, so calling me a writer is like calling a man who makes dinner every night a 5 star chef. I started this blog to force me to write. From the 1st January 2013, I intend to update this blog every day. If nothing interesting happens, I'll write about something that does interest me, whether that is a movie, a book, something I've heard about, or even some of my stories growing up.
This entry was posted in Canada, Whistler, Working Holiday Club and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

