7th April – Working Holiday Club Interview

So…yeah, it’s been nearly 2 months without an update.  This was equal parts distraction and illness – I’ve been all over the place in April mentally, and spent most of March combatting multiple different illnesses.  I’m starting to forget what it is to be healthy.

Anyway, after a few days in Vancouver, the day of my interview finally arrives, and I’m stuck trying to figure out exactly where to do it.  The hostel doesn’t have a quiet room like I’ve been used to in other hostels, and due to the time zone differences (with my interviewer being in Australia), my interview will be at about 10pm on a Friday.  There’s no hope of finding somewhere quiet in the hostel at that time, so my only option is to find an internet café.  A quick google search finds me one just ten minutes away, and that morning I head in to see if I have to book a computer, and to see if they have the necessary equipment for a Skype call.  They say I just have to show up, and yes, they have the tools.

Of course, when I arrive at 9:45 to prep for the interview?  They reveal they don’t have a webcam, only the headphones.  Before I can try and fix this problem, my interviewer calls me and asks if we can start it early since she’s ahead of schedule.  So despite this setback, all I can do is grit my teeth and power through.

Despite my lack of camera, the interview goes pretty well.  I’m trying for a food service job as it’s something I really enjoy and have a lot of transferrable experience.  Otherwise I’d head for cleaning, but the interviewer seems to like me and my skillset.  I’m in the running for either a Food Service Attendant job, or a Hot Bistro Worker.  I’d prefer Hot Bistro, but either would work out for me.

When the interview finishes, I feel pretty good about my chances.  Won’t find out if I get the job until the end of the month though, so now I need to figure out what I’m doing for a month.

 

About Batale

I am an aspiring writer - though since I haven't written anything original in about 2 years, so calling me a writer is like calling a man who makes dinner every night a 5 star chef. I started this blog to force me to write. From the 1st January 2013, I intend to update this blog every day. If nothing interesting happens, I'll write about something that does interest me, whether that is a movie, a book, something I've heard about, or even some of my stories growing up.
This entry was posted in Canada, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

