5th April 2017 – Vancouver

So on the train, I had a revelation.  I’ve been thinking I have 3 days before my interview with Whistler.  However, when you take in the time difference, I’ve suddenly realise I only have 2.  Which means I have no time to waste once I’m settled into Vancouver.

However, my arrival in Vancouver has some delay.  I hear this is common with the train – it rarely runs on time and we get in about 3 hours later than expected.  I use the time to enjoy one last breakfast, talk to some people, and eventually disembark with a handful of other backpackers all heading in the same direction.  Apparently I’m the only one whose looked into transport – it’s only half an hour to walk to the hostel, but the rain is torrential, so we head for the sky train.

This is a train/monorail that connects significant chunks of Vancouver, and by far the easiest way to get around.  We’re only 2 stops away from Granville Street, which is about $2.75 for riding one zone.  From there it’s a ten minute walk, though we do get a little lost trying to wrap our heads around the sign posts (it takes a while to wrap your head around it, especially when you’re used to navigating via buildings, not streets – especially when the streets are ‘Granville Street by Nelson Street’).  We end up huddled outside a Starbucks trying to get Wi-Fi to work, only to realise we were literally just across the road from it.

The hostel I’m staying at for the immediate future is the Samesun Backpackers, located in the heart of downtown.  It’s also the hostel the Working Holiday Club works with, and I’ll get a free night if I get a job offer.  At the moment I’m only booked for a week until I figure out what I’m doing.

I did intend to do something with my day, but honestly the train trip did little for my ability to sleep, so I more or less just crash so I can recover for tomorrow.

About Batale

I am an aspiring writer - though since I haven't written anything original in about 2 years, so calling me a writer is like calling a man who makes dinner every night a 5 star chef. I started this blog to force me to write. From the 1st January 2013, I intend to update this blog every day. If nothing interesting happens, I'll write about something that does interest me, whether that is a movie, a book, something I've heard about, or even some of my stories growing up.
This entry was posted in Canada, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

