3rd April 2017 – Pyramid Lake

This is my last full day in Jasper, and I’m making the most of it by heading up the mountain towards Pyramid Lake.  This is a hike that takes me past Patricia Lake, then up to the Pyramid lodge area, before spreading out into different trails in the hills that overlook the area.  It can be anywhere from 4-14km, perfect for a day walk.

Or at least, it would be normally.  The ice is a serious problem, and I eventually find myself stumbling out of the forest and onto the main road that curves not too far from the walking trail for my own safety – its just not possible to stay on 2 feet while walking on the ice covered trails.  Thankfully, you don’t really lose much in the way of beauty, the road and trail are pretty close together.

After about an hour heading uphill, I make it to Patricia Lake, which has more or less been left alone to gain a significant couple feet of snow on it’s ice.  It’s beautiful, and oh so tempting to sneak out, but warnings of thin ice are everywhere, so I carry on.

P1100809

Twenty minutes later takes you to the Pyramid Lodge and resort area, which hugs one end of the huge Pyramid Lake.

P1100819

This lake is huge.  I can’t even see the other end cause it’s hidden by the mountain and trees.  Like Patricia it’s also covered in snow, but there are areas where it’s been swept away, creating a pool and what looks like a road.  However, there are now ‘thin ice’ signs decorating the shore, so it’s clear these are no longer being used.

P1100817

If you walk along the road, you come across a walkway into the lake, which leads to Pyramid Island, a small forest laden landmass emerging from the lake.  Apparently this is a huge attraction for couples in the summer, but I love it for the views I get of the lake from all sides. It’s so huge photos don’t really do it justice.  I end up eating lunch here and appreciating the scenery before heading to the end of the road and beginning the hike up the remainder of the hill to do the overlook loop

Unfortunately, these plans quickly crumble to dust after five minutes of trying to get up the first small hill.  Again, it’s pure ice.  I can’t see it getting any better as I look upwards, and there’s no road I can slip on to avoid it.  After weighing the pros and cons, I decide the view isn’t worth risking my neck, and decide to head back down the hill instead.  All things considered the two lakes were more than worth the effort to get up here.

 

About Batale

I am an aspiring writer - though since I haven't written anything original in about 2 years, so calling me a writer is like calling a man who makes dinner every night a 5 star chef. I started this blog to force me to write. From the 1st January 2013, I intend to update this blog every day. If nothing interesting happens, I'll write about something that does interest me, whether that is a movie, a book, something I've heard about, or even some of my stories growing up.
This entry was posted in Canada, Diary and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

