30th March 2017 – Edmonton

You know, considering how much I want to sleep nowadays, I manage to make it through waiting at the airport for my flight surprisingly well.  I did sleep from 6-10:30 in the evening to help out, but making it through 5 hours of night without falling asleep is pretty impressive for me.

There’s also a reward when I get on the Westjet flight.  It’s not busy, so there are quite a few spare seats – and I get a full row to myself.  It’s a little bit of a letdown when I learned my seat rest was stuck down, and I have to shimmy my legs underneath it, but that’s a small price to pay.  I get about 2 hours of sleep before I end up swapping seats with the woman behind me (who is sharing a row and is clearly desperate for sleep) since I’m getting sore from the position I’m in.  I dig out my laptop and work on some of my interview questions and watching some videos until the battery dies, then just listen to music.

We arrive in Edmonton around 8:55, and I take the shuttle bus into town.  I’m staying the Hi-Edmonton hostel, and quickly learn that Edmonton is BIG.  It takes about 15-20 minutes to get to the hostel, and it’s clear I’m staying on the outskirts of town.  Edmonton itself it a giant chasm still a good ten minutes away.  Not that I have much energy to go explore, the night before has started to take its toll, and I spend most of the day either aimlessly walking or snoozing in my room.

It’s not until around 7pm, when I start repacking everything for the train trip tomorrow, that I realise my huge error.  And this will be a good time to see how many people read this, because nobody will let me live it down.

I’m packing my bad, rooting through my hand luggage…and can’t find my laptop.  Thirty seconds of pondering, the answer hits me like ice water.  When the battery ran out, I meant to put it back in my bag, but there was turbulence, and I just slipped it into the seat pocket.

I NEVER TOOK IT BACK OUT.

What followed was a frantic hour of calling up the airport to connect me to Westjet, in order to track down the plane and the laptop.  The biggest fear was that it hadn’t been caught until it had landed in another country, which was highly likely considering how early the flight had come in.

Thankfully, mercifully, the laptop had been found.  However, it had made it all the way to the LA and back before anyone noticed, so it’s nothing short of a miracle it was in Edmonton.  I then had to figure out how to get to the airport and back without financially crippling myself – thankfully, when I was brainstorming with the receptionist, a guy at the hostel graciously donated his truck to my cause and took me there and back.  God bless that man.

About Batale

I am an aspiring writer - though since I haven't written anything original in about 2 years, so calling me a writer is like calling a man who makes dinner every night a 5 star chef. I started this blog to force me to write. From the 1st January 2013, I intend to update this blog every day. If nothing interesting happens, I'll write about something that does interest me, whether that is a movie, a book, something I've heard about, or even some of my stories growing up.
This entry was posted in Canada, Diary and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

