21st January 2017 – Farewell

And that’s that.  Farewell New Zealand!  The last few weeks have been pretty good all things considered.  The HR team at Visionstream wanted me back for the last few weeks, so I’m leaving with a bit of cash in my pocket – most of which is going towards paying for joining a Canadian job agency that can help me with getting work in the Summer.  Been having a last minute panic and decided I’d rather have all the help I can get considering how much I suffered over here.  Do wish I was staying a few more weeks though, if just to stick around the Visionstream team a little longer, but I will be replacing them with something I love dearly.  Parrots!

Yup, I’m back to Parrots in Paradise in the Glasshouse Mountains.  Mark picks me up from the train station and I greet Dail and the birds, including a new arrival I’ve never met before – Jimmy, who can be identified by the handful of yellow feathers on his neck.  He’s also a huge attention hog who longs for constant interaction.

I’m also greeted by my favourite little buddy Paddy, the miniature eclectus who has since become a Daddy.  Sadly, his wife Dot got a little bit overexcited when she had her first kid, and broke the chick’s legs.  Lucky is still functional, but she’s had to undergo x-rays and will be getting an operation after I leave.  I made a little video of her while I was there if you want to check it out.  Just ignore the music, it malfunctioned at the last minute.

Another new addition is the Picnic with the Parrots event, where people can have lunch with some of the birds.  The veranda has been caged in so birds can enjoy free flight for the first time.  Dail has never had a place where the birds could really stretch their wings before, so a lot of the eccies with clipped wings are getting them grown out so they can have fun.

(Sadly, Paddy is so small and heavy, his wings can’t lift him and whenever he tries to fly he goes skidding along the floor.  It’s adorable.  He’s just so small they’d have to starve him to get him in the air).

 

About Batale

I am an aspiring writer - though since I haven't written anything original in about 2 years, so calling me a writer is like calling a man who makes dinner every night a 5 star chef. I started this blog to force me to write. From the 1st January 2013, I intend to update this blog every day. If nothing interesting happens, I'll write about something that does interest me, whether that is a movie, a book, something I've heard about, or even some of my stories growing up.
This entry was posted in Australia, Diary, New Zealand and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

