19th December – Te Anau

Queenstown is expensive, but I really like it, so it’s kind of sad I have to leave so soon.  However, I have to get to Milford Sound tomorrow, and the cheapest way to do that is by the Tracknet bus this morning.

p1080902

Tracknet is a bus company that runs between the Sounds, the start/end of hiking trails, and the nearby towns.  It’s by far the best transport option for the area if you don’t have a car, but it can be pricy.  That said, they also work in conjunction with Naked Bus, and certain fares can be obtained for a steal.  For example, I booked Tracknet services for Queenstown to Te Anau, and Te Anau to Milford Sound via the Naked Bus website for just $12 each, when it would normally run closer to $50.  I did have to pay full price for the bus coming back from Milford, but that was still a great deal.

The bus takes about two hours to reach Te Anau, which is situated around (naturally) Lake Te Anau.  As an added bonus, Tracknet will drop you off straight to your hostel door, so I didn’t even have to go searching!

p1080905

I’m staying at the YHA for the next 3 nights in a 4 bed dorm.  It’s pretty tight, but I’m only using it for sleeping so don’t really mind.  Drop off my stuff and start wandering around town.  I first head to the Tracknet office to arrange a pickup in the morning (as I’m travelling on a Naked Bus ticket, they don’t always allow it and I needed to figure out where to go).  Thankfully, they’re happy to pick me up from the YHA, and I can happily wander around the lake with that issue taken care of.

However, Te Anau has one more surprise left for me.  Just as I’m passing a pie shop, I hear someone calling me.  When I turn round?  It turns out to be Krislin, my old kiwi picking buddy!

20161219_151131

She’s been in Te Anau for almost 3 months and leaving this week so I’d just caught her.  To be honest I’d thought she’d already left New Zealand – got her plans mixed with someone else – and we promise we’ll catch up on the 21st when we both have some free time.

About Batale

I am an aspiring writer - though since I haven't written anything original in about 2 years, so calling me a writer is like calling a man who makes dinner every night a 5 star chef. I started this blog to force me to write. From the 1st January 2013, I intend to update this blog every day. If nothing interesting happens, I'll write about something that does interest me, whether that is a movie, a book, something I've heard about, or even some of my stories growing up.
This entry was posted in Diary, New Zealand and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

