27th November – Farmer’s Christmas Parade

Originally, I planned to go to Auckland museum today, but instead remembered a one time event happening in town.  There’s a big Christmas Parade held by Farmers each year, and it’s on this afternoon.  They’re already getting the street ready, so I decide to hold off on the museum and go check it out instead.  Starts at one, but I’m not really wanting to hang around for a good seat, so show up and manage to wrangle a tolerable seat behind an Asian couple.  They end up leaving midway, and my seat gets a much better view.

The parade starts mostly with groups of people from different societies, with at least 4 bagpipe groups and a few multi-cultural societies dancing around.  The biggest draw though was a cheerleading troupe, who were doing jumps and flips in the middle of the street.

p1080031

These were followed by a Christmas float that was streamers into the air.  Streamers that would then fly around and either get tangled up on people, trees or light posts.  Would not like to be the poor fool who has to that up.

Most of the floats were run by businesses, with a few entertainment ones here and there.  One of the big draws though were the inflatables – we had powerpuff girls, two different angry bird characters and some creepy Minnie and Mickey Mouse inflatables coming down the street.

p1080056

After about an hour, I decide I’m kind of tired of watching, and instead chase the ending, moving out of the crowd and walking up the street to see the floats still waiting at the top of Queen Street.  The highlight is by far the Religious float – they’ve gone and dressed six kids up as angels and strapped them to metal podiums in the air.  There’s no way they can get down on their own – so they’ve basically trapped their kids for three hours on that float.

The final float is of course Santa, and in typical Australasian manner, he’s surrounded by Kiwi’s and volcanoes to give him a New Zealand feel.

p1080201

Merry Pre-Christmas Auckland!

About Batale

I am an aspiring writer - though since I haven't written anything original in about 2 years, so calling me a writer is like calling a man who makes dinner every night a 5 star chef. I started this blog to force me to write. From the 1st January 2013, I intend to update this blog every day. If nothing interesting happens, I'll write about something that does interest me, whether that is a movie, a book, something I've heard about, or even some of my stories growing up.
This entry was posted in Diary, New Zealand, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

