26th November – Thanksgiving

On Thursday it was Thanksgiving, and American in my room was kind of missing it, so it was decided we’d have one today.  Everyone was making something in order to make sure we had way too much food.  One was making Chicken Pot Pie and stuffing, another decided to make a salad and pierogi, somebody baked apple pie for dessert, and I made roast vegetables and Yorkshire puddings.

Due to all this food, the kitchen was pretty much one constant hustle all day.  Half of the hostel just looked on in amusement while people bustled about and worked on whatever they had to.  Ironically, some people had suggested the American make an actual turkey, clearly not realising how much work was involved – it was hard enough handling what we had, and we had two ovens to play with!

p1080028

The plan was to eat at 5, and we ended up having the table set and prepared at 5:30.  However, certain ‘guests’ who were supposed to be joining us never appeared.  To be fair, one was cleaning, but probably seemed odd considering we had a giant table set and only four people.  Ended up letting people grab plates and have some of the grub – lord knows we had way too much to pack away.

There’s so much left over, we decide we’ll have another meal tomorrow.  Isn’t a holiday unless you’re eating the leftovers for the next week after all.

About Batale

I am an aspiring writer - though since I haven't written anything original in about 2 years, so calling me a writer is like calling a man who makes dinner every night a 5 star chef. I started this blog to force me to write. From the 1st January 2013, I intend to update this blog every day. If nothing interesting happens, I'll write about something that does interest me, whether that is a movie, a book, something I've heard about, or even some of my stories growing up.
This entry was posted in Diary, New Zealand, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

