22nd November – VisionStream

So my last job in 2016 is for VisionStream, and I honestly admit – I’m not entirely sure what they do.  It has something to do with telecommunications but that’s about all I know.  Thankfully, my job doesn’t require me to know much about the business, because I’m basically back on scanning duty.

The HR department has three cupboards full of old files for terminated employees.  They need to be scanned into the electronic database so that the old paper copies can be destroyed.  This is definitely not a short job – within a day it’s clear that unless the files get thinner or I figure out a few tricks to speed things up, there’s no way I’ll finish them in three weeks.

Thankfully, by the end of the week I’ve managed to put together a system so I don’t waste any time, and most of the files are getting thinner.  By the end of the first week I’ve gone from doing one third of a shelf to ¾, and so long as I can maintain that speed, I should be able to clear the files by the third week.  Fingers crossed.

About Batale

I am an aspiring writer - though since I haven't written anything original in about 2 years, so calling me a writer is like calling a man who makes dinner every night a 5 star chef. I started this blog to force me to write. From the 1st January 2013, I intend to update this blog every day. If nothing interesting happens, I'll write about something that does interest me, whether that is a movie, a book, something I've heard about, or even some of my stories growing up.
This entry was posted in Diary, New Zealand, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

