12th November – Scandinavian Christmas Market

I had planned to make it to Waiheke Island this weekend, but get a text from Hamish at Kraken Crumpets.  They have a busy weekend and needs help both Saturday and Sunday.  I’m in no position to say no to that kind of extra cash, so in we go.  Saturday is at the General Collective: Scandinavian Christmas Market, hosted at the ASB Showgrounds.  So glad Armageddon helped me find this place beforehand.

It’s raining, but there’s already a pretty big queue outside.  The Kraken van is outside, and they’re already struggling due to the wind blowing in every other minute.  I pop in and start slicing lemons and preparing the bacon and egg pots.

What begins is the busiest day on the van since WOMAD.  The queue for the market is all the way out of the carpark and round the corner, despite high winds and heavy rain.  We don’t get a second to ourselves – there’s a constant stream of people ordering crumpets, at least five on average.  To make things worse, a lot of them are ordering bacon and eggs, and they take forever to cook…and only a few seconds to overcook.  Most go out overcooked, but nothing we can do about it.

It’s a full 7 ½ hours before we’re allowed to close, and we run out of B&E five hours in.  We didn’t completely sell out, but came pretty close (maybe half a bucket of dough left?).  However, once the market shuts down, so do we.  Take down the menu board and block the front, but STILL people come up to us and ask if we have any crumpets left!  Despite an empty hot plate and us clearly deep in cleaning.  Guess some people are just optimists.

Never get to see the market myself since we’re so busy, but least I made a decent amount of cash.  Tomorrow I’m at a park that’s in walking distance – hopefully the weather will be better tomorrow.

About Batale

I am an aspiring writer - though since I haven't written anything original in about 2 years, so calling me a writer is like calling a man who makes dinner every night a 5 star chef. I started this blog to force me to write. From the 1st January 2013, I intend to update this blog every day. If nothing interesting happens, I'll write about something that does interest me, whether that is a movie, a book, something I've heard about, or even some of my stories growing up.
This entry was posted in Diary, New Zealand, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

