21st October – Final Symphony

It’s finally here.  All the way back in March, I caught sight of an advert on Facebook of a concert that would be happening in Auckland.  The Auckland Philharmonic Orchestra is playing scores from Final Fantasy – Final Symphony.

20161021_193247

I’ve been to a few Final Fantasy concerts in the UK, and loved them dearly.  Even though my love for the games has waned (even before I was backpacking, the FF games had dropped on my favourites list to make room for Tales and Persona), the music – especially from the classic pre-10 games – is something I never get tired of.  I bought my ticket when I was in Te Puke and is one of the main reasons I’ve been sticking around Auckland for so long.

The concert is held at ASB Theatre in the Aotea Centre.  In the foyer, a local cosplay group is posing for photos – since Armageddon is this weekend, there’s plenty of cosplay going around.  It makes me pine for my own costuming.

Sadly, since I bought my ticket when I had limited funds, I bought the cheapest seat I could – meaning I was up a little bit higher than I would have liked – but did get to sit at the very front of the area and had a semi-decent view of the orchestra so long as I leaned forward.

20161021_195603

The performance consisted of three parts.  Starting with a collection from Final Fantasy 6, and then moving into the score from Final Fantasy 10.  Finally, after intermission, we got a collection of songs from Final Fantasy 7.

Kind of wish I’d had a slightly better seat, but it was just as good as I was hoping. Great way to start a con weekend.

About Batale

I am an aspiring writer - though since I haven't written anything original in about 2 years, so calling me a writer is like calling a man who makes dinner every night a 5 star chef. I started this blog to force me to write. From the 1st January 2013, I intend to update this blog every day. If nothing interesting happens, I'll write about something that does interest me, whether that is a movie, a book, something I've heard about, or even some of my stories growing up.
This entry was posted in Diary, New Zealand, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

