29th September – IT Issues

So it’s been nearly a week at the architect firm, and so far I haven’t blown up the office, so figure I’m doing a tolerable job.

I’ve managed to get busier over the last few days, mostly by being given additional jobs like filing and sorting paint swatches.  The latter job was delightful as it took hours and I love sorting stuff into order (you know, so long as it’s not mine).

Frustratingly, my job has been bogged down with a lot of tech issues – thankfully not due to me but the woman I’m covering for.  The business recently updated their system and she was responsible for making sure my account worked.  Unfortunately, she didn’t do a thorough job.  My account had access to the drives, but no email.  A few days later, IT figure out giving me a new account would be easiest due to corrupted files in the background (or something – IT isn’t my strong suit).  So I get email…only to find my new account doesn’t have access to the drives.

Finally that gets fixed…but today realized that although I have email, and access to shared drives, I DON’T have access to the shared email folder – which is the whole point of me HAVING an email account.  Starting to think it won’t all get sorted until it’s time for me to leave.

Also having to chase up the office’s coffee order, which has vanished into thin air (literally, even Nespresso can’t find it), and will probably have to run out and buy some capsules tomorrow because no way they’re showing up on time for morning tea, and we have like, three left.

About Batale

I am an aspiring writer - though since I haven't written anything original in about 2 years, so calling me a writer is like calling a man who makes dinner every night a 5 star chef. I started this blog to force me to write. From the 1st January 2013, I intend to update this blog every day. If nothing interesting happens, I'll write about something that does interest me, whether that is a movie, a book, something I've heard about, or even some of my stories growing up.
This entry was posted in Diary, New Zealand, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

