25th September – Kubo and the Two Pairs of Shoes

Before I head off on my great shopping expedition, I hop over to EVENT Cinemas on Queen Street at 10:30 to enjoy a movie I’ve been meaning to catch for a while.  Kubo and the Two Strings.  I’m a pretty big fan of Laika and Japanese related media, so I was looking forward to it.

Kubo is about a 12 year old boy who has magical powers, allowing him to control paper through his shamisen (musical instrument).  He lives with his mother, who fled Kubo’s grandfather (The Moon King) when he stole Kubo’s right eye and killed his father.  However, when Kubo disobeys his mother’s rule about never being out at night, her family returns to claim him, and Kubo must search for 3 pieces of legendary armour to save himself.

It’s basically everything I wanted it to be and more.  It’s beautiful, the characters relatable, the story strong and not easy to guess, and the ending happy yet bittersweet.  I’m so happy I managed to see it before it left – my only vice is that they didn’t use Japanese voice actors, but I can live with that.

When I get out, I have to leg it to the bus stop in order to catch the bus.   Of course, this being me, I go to the wrong stop and miss it anyway.  End up reaching the centre nearly 40 minutes later than planned.

Kmart has always been my go-to in Australasia.  However, since it’s so hard to get to in Auckland, I’ve been relying on Cotton On.  Hopefully, I’d hit gold again here.

Sadly, luck wasn’t on my side.  Kmart only had 2 pairs of boots on their shelves, and neither of them were appealing (too expensive or no grip on the bottom).  I didn’t manage to get some work shoes for $15 though, as well as one shirt, so it wasn’t a total loss.

I decided to hunt round the rest of the shops for anything that would do, and after an hour of searching, I headed back to Kmart to give my only options another look – only to spot a discount Cotton On shoe store to the side – with several pairs of boots at $20.  Pick the sturdiest pair, and declare the weekend a win.

About Batale

I am an aspiring writer - though since I haven't written anything original in about 2 years, so calling me a writer is like calling a man who makes dinner every night a 5 star chef. I started this blog to force me to write. From the 1st January 2013, I intend to update this blog every day. If nothing interesting happens, I'll write about something that does interest me, whether that is a movie, a book, something I've heard about, or even some of my stories growing up.
This entry was posted in Diary, New Zealand, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

