24th September – Overload 2016

Last week I came across a poster.  It was for an Anime Convention I literally had no idea was running.  As this was the same weekend as an MCM Expo back home, I was elated to have some anime reprieve.

Overload 2016 was held in The Cloud on the harbour.  Nowhere near the size of Armageddon, it’s clearly got a bigger emphasis on independent talent, and is trying to increase the number of cosplayers in Auckland.  Actually had some interesting guests – two pro-cosplayers from Australia and Japan, and the artist for Loveless.  Not my kind of manga, but that felt like a pretty big deal.

p1060715

Most of the building was dedicated to the artists.  Compared to the UK, I’ve always felt Australasia is more creative – its independent sellers are more unique, but Overload blew amateur out of the park.  EVERY artist could have been a pro here.  There was no bad or mediocre art – if I’d had any way of transporting it, I’d have bought artwork by the crate.  My favourite was a guy doing tribal style anime artwork – I’ve always wanted an anime tattoo – maybe this is the guy to commission from.

Cosplay wise however, Overload struggled.  I blame the weather and poor advertising.  Their main competition was for teams to compete in the Madman Cosplay Finals in Brisbane – but only 2 teams entered, one dropping out due to illness.  At least the winners felt like winners – their costumes were amazing, and the performance pretty good.

p1060742

Then there was the cosplay parade.  Unlike Australia, where cosplayers come on stage, pose then get asked questions, or like the UK where the announcer tells you who’s coming up, cosplayers came on stage, told you who they were, and darted off.  Clearly lots of newbies on the scene.

Despite my inability to buy art, I still spent way too much here (what else is new?).  Bought several keychains, a pair of awesome earrings (about the only thing on this incredible armour-style stand I could afford) and some novelty cakes from the food stands.  Also bagged some castellas when I realized the egg-cake man was here too!  Been looking for them since the Chinese Lantern Festival!

Didn’t spend all day here however (though still longer than intended due to rain pinning me down).  I also had to hit up the charity shops to spruce up my wardrobe.  Since I’ll be working as a receptionist, I need a slightly more professional image.  I can’t afford to buy five or so shirts, so I’m on the hunt for a suit jacket that will justify my t-shirt.  My first stop is ‘Pre-Loved’ where I’ve gotten my dress trousers before.  It’s usually pretty reliable, but no luck today – and forced to hike up to the top of Queen Street and check out the shops on K road.

I hate having breasts – I swear nobody who designs jackets for women realizes we have them because I try on a dozen in 3 different shops and they’re either overwhelmingly big or ridiculously tight.  To be fair, my shoulders cause just as many problems, but it’s a frustrating experience and reminds me why I don’t buy suit jackets.

Finally find something tolerable in ‘Paper Bag Princess’ for $14.  It’s a little tight but it’s not designed to close and has tiny shoulder pads instead of the huge things I’ve been dealing with.  I’d struggle to find better.

Tomorrow I’m finally going to solve my shoe problem and take the bus to Kmart at St Luke’s Shopping Centre.  Hopefully they’ll still have boots or some other kind of waterproof shoe before summer clothing takes over entirely.

About Batale

I am an aspiring writer - though since I haven't written anything original in about 2 years, so calling me a writer is like calling a man who makes dinner every night a 5 star chef. I started this blog to force me to write. From the 1st January 2013, I intend to update this blog every day. If nothing interesting happens, I'll write about something that does interest me, whether that is a movie, a book, something I've heard about, or even some of my stories growing up.
This entry was posted in Diary, New Zealand, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

