6th July – Stray: Wellington

I was right.  My body is completely aching, if my legs are still talking to me tonight I will be very surprised.  At least they’ll be spending most of the day in the bus, as it’s a good 6-7 hour drive to make it to Wellington.  No real stops this time since we have to cover so much distance, but we do still get some tour out of it.  For one thing, we seem to run through every single one ‘New Zealand random item Capital!’  We hit chocolate éclair capital, huntaway (a type of dog) capital, outlet shop capital, gumboot capital – there are a LOT of capitals in the Southern North.  If the weather was better, we would have stopped in gumboots in order to try throwing them (apparently it’s something of a pastime there), but grass was too wet to properly enjoy it.  Did stop off in Ohakune for an éclair though – the shop is only open in the winter, and it’s pretty damn good for $2.

P1060534

We also stop in outlook town – where there are tons of cheap shoes just as I don’t need them.  Typical.

Finally, at around 2:45, we arrive in Wellington, the last stop before you hit the Southern Island.  I haven’t even gotten out of the bus yet and I’m already enamoured.  The city looks so quirky compared to the bland Auckland.

When heading South, Stray stay at Nomads and Base when heading South.  As such as I say goodbye to most of the group as I’m the only one staying at Base while they stay at Nomads, but we do promise to meet up for one last night at the bar next to Nomads.

I’m a little late to the party, but when I get there half the group is signing up for beer pong.  Its ridiculously popular – it ends up having about 20 teams, which takes a long time to get through.  Sadly, we’re not all that good.  The first three teams come close, but all three are taken out by the other teams, while our fourth only gets through because the other team doesn’t show.

P1060587

Sadly, I don’t get to see if Stray Four makes it to the finals because it’s getting late and I want to head off.  I wish everyone heading South luck, and head off to enjoy my 2 days in Wellington.

About Batale

I am an aspiring writer - though since I haven't written anything original in about 2 years, so calling me a writer is like calling a man who makes dinner every night a 5 star chef. I started this blog to force me to write. From the 1st January 2013, I intend to update this blog every day. If nothing interesting happens, I'll write about something that does interest me, whether that is a movie, a book, something I've heard about, or even some of my stories growing up.
This entry was posted in Diary, New Zealand, Stray and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

