27th June – Goodbye Te Puke

I haven’t been the best at updating lately, mostly due to frustration and not having all that much to write about.  But this morning I packed bags, said goodbye to landlord Steve (who was kind enough to give me a ride to the bus station when it started bucketing down) and head back to Auckland for a day before I start travelling again.

So what’s been happening?  Very little work-wise.  Decided pruning wasn’t the way I wanted to go (between the weather and how much I’m allowed to work during my visa it’s not really worth it), and the office jobs never got back to me – even after I roped my hairdresser roommate into dying my hair blonde (the blue was turning a hideous pale green and I had 3 months of roots).  The bookstore however, is available on the 12th, so I’ll see the North Island and head back for that.

So, if someone was to ask me if I would kiwi pick again?  No – not unless I had no other option – Thanks to the weather and the season, I didn’t even break even after 4 months of ‘work’ (which ended up being less than 2 months altogether).  Pack house work would have been a better choice.

That said, Sohrab has said he’ll happily take me on for Summer pruning if I’m interested, and Steve’s happy to rent the room again, so when the weather improves at least I have that to consider.

I get the 9:55 Intercity from Te Puke to Rotorua, which takes 50 minutes and gives me about an hour at Rotorua’s information centre.  Much like last time, I have too much baggage to properly explore, but I’ll be here again next week for a few days so I can see more then.  It’s also raining pretty heavily, so I don’t want to leave Intercity’s waiting room unless I see a bus.

I’m using the Naked Bus service, which you have to book but is fairly cheap if you book several days in advance.  My ticket from Rotorua to Auckland at 11:50 only cost me $23 – which is probably less than the fuel required for a car.  It does however take some time to get into Auckland – with me arriving at 15:40 and heading for Frienz, still my hostel of choice in Auckland.  They’ve started remodelling the kitchen, and it looks really fresh, which two new ovens, but isn’t complete so still a little bit of a construction site.

Don’t have a lot of time to do anything, but now I’m in a city with decent shops, I hit up the main street looking for something specific – a pair of boots.  Not gum boots or hiking boots, just plain old black faux leather boots that I can wear in town.  I live in these back home, and I haven’t owned a pair in nearly 2 years.  At the moment my shoe options are my Keen walking shoes, a pair of very cheap non-waterproof trainers and my hiking boots – which have been wrecked by kiwi picking and have holes in them.  None of these shoes are waterproof, and really aren’t designed to handle ‘winter weather.’  The temperature has shot down recently and I need something to fill that gap.

It takes me nearly 2 hours, hitting up every shop I could and either finding shoes that were too expensive, or not appropriate before I struck lucky in a last resort stop at ‘Cotton On.’  I like this shop, but their shoes are usually not something I wear.  But as luck would have it, I saw exactly what I was looking for on the shelf.  Black, leather-like fabric with laces and a zip, and actual grip on a one-inch heel.  And the icing on the cake?  They were on clearance at $20.  I couldn’t NOT grab them for that.

So yeah, going travelling tomorrow and got a nice shoe bargain to end my day.  Perfect.

About Batale

I am an aspiring writer - though since I haven't written anything original in about 2 years, so calling me a writer is like calling a man who makes dinner every night a 5 star chef. I started this blog to force me to write. From the 1st January 2013, I intend to update this blog every day. If nothing interesting happens, I'll write about something that does interest me, whether that is a movie, a book, something I've heard about, or even some of my stories growing up.
This entry was posted in Diary, New Zealand and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

