18th June – Kiwi Season End

Well, it’s officially my last day of kiwi picking.  After four months of stop-start work, I’ve barely made what I came here with after rent.  In hindsight, I should have done a packing job instead of desperately holding out for a season that never showed up, but what’s done is done.

At least we’re finishing in a great orchard.  The final one is in Te Puke, and it was pruned by the gods.  All the fruit is low hanging, there’s very few slopes, and all the fruit is falling off without stalks – aka, perfect picking conditions.  Yesterday we actually had a personal best of 138 bins, unheard of for us.  However, today we were all tired, and with the season ending, nobody had any real drive.  As such we only made 108 bins, but at least that’s a decent number to finish up with.

Since it was the end of the picking, our boss Bagda even put up some drink and crisps for us to celebrate, which went down well.  He also ended up having a party at his house the day after, but he gave us approximately 1 hour’s notice and I frankly wasn’t up for it, so didn’t go.  For us though, it was probably the last day our ‘English speaking’ group would get together, so we decided to celebrate in Te Puke by grabbing some fish and chips, recommended by me due to the price.

See, there’s this small takeaway called Fish and Noodle, and they do a $5 fish back.  This gives you enough to feed 2 people – 2 fish, a decent handful of chips and 4 potato scallops.  I’ve turned that into 2 meals on more than one occasion, and I’d recommended it before.  Matthew, who had to head into Rotorua liked the idea of cheap food he could split into two meals, and the others all enjoyed it before, so I ended up splitting one with Kunia (roommate who joined up with us for the last 2 days when her contractor finished), while Sarah and the boys split 2 and Matthew enjoyed one.

Course, Sarah and the boys were a little late due to their last minute pick.  The owner of our final orchard had some gold kiwi at the front, and since it wasn’t going to be picked said the boys could take what they want – even gave them a box to fill.  So they spent a good five minutes in the pitch black with iphone torches filling up a box to the brim with gold kiwi.  No clue what they’re gonna do with them considering they’ve already got about 2 boxes worth of green kiwi’s to get through in the back of the car already, but guess it’s hard to say no to free food…

Pruning will be starting soon, but honestly, after spending a month longer than I planned in Te Puke and not even breaking even, I am DONE with this town.  I need to get out and see somewhere else.  Currently applying for some office jobs in Auckland, and if they don’t pan out the University Book Store needs someone again in 3-4 weeks, so might do some VERY CHEAP travelling and head back to Auckland for then.

About Batale

I am an aspiring writer - though since I haven't written anything original in about 2 years, so calling me a writer is like calling a man who makes dinner every night a 5 star chef. I started this blog to force me to write. From the 1st January 2013, I intend to update this blog every day. If nothing interesting happens, I'll write about something that does interest me, whether that is a movie, a book, something I've heard about, or even some of my stories growing up.
This entry was posted in Diary, New Zealand and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

