26th May – A New Start at the Finish Line

Welp, I’ve finally cut my losses and signed up with a new contractor.  Sohrab just couldn’t find the work and last time I called him, he suggested I do just that if I could.  I’m now getting a ride with new girl Sarah and working for a woman called Julie.  Ironically, on the first day of work, Sohrab calls to see if anyone is free for work.  I feel a little guilty about leaving when I was…but when I texted Krislin at lunch time, turned out Sohrab has transferred them to another contractor since he couldn’t get work, and they’d only gotten an hour when I’d had 3 by that point.  Clearly made the right decision.

My new contractor for the next 3 weeks is very specific on how he wants the work done though.  The supervisor is insistent that we use a certain method of picking – this method I know of, but haven’t been using because the number of fruit I drop increased dramatically.  However, I’ve been told to learn because my style is too slow.  As such, I’m going pretty slow myself.  Hopefully I can pick it up before people start to notice.

About Batale

I am an aspiring writer - though since I haven't written anything original in about 2 years, so calling me a writer is like calling a man who makes dinner every night a 5 star chef. I started this blog to force me to write. From the 1st January 2013, I intend to update this blog every day. If nothing interesting happens, I'll write about something that does interest me, whether that is a movie, a book, something I've heard about, or even some of my stories growing up.
This entry was posted in Diary, New Zealand and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

