24th May – Rain, Rain, Rain

It’s been a week, and the forecast has been nothing but rain, thunder and more rain.  We managed to get out once – for a random contractor who had us doing green kiwi, but other than that, we’ve been trapped inside.  To make matters worse, nearly every other person in the hostel is at least getting a few hours of work in the morning when it’s dry enough to try.  Sohrab on the other hand, is struggling to get anything because Bay Gold keep changing how many teams they want and are really specific as to how dry the kiwi’s must be.

As an added bonus, next week is promising the exact same thing.  Rain, rain, rain.  We were finally making decent money, and this is throwing me back even more.  There’s maybe 3 weeks of picking left and I’ll be lucky to break even at this rate.

I’m not the only one to realise this either.  Most of the team has started looking for other employment.  Norma and Bertrand will be leaving tomorrow as Bertrand’s found a job in a restaurant in Auckland.  To say goodbye, they grab me and Krislin and head up to Mt. Manganui to a place called Rosie O’Donnell’s Bar, who have a pizza and beer for $10 offer on tonight.  Clearly Tuesday is the day to eat in Manganui.

P1050889

Word spread because we were also joined by Caitlin and the Argintinean/Chile group.  They’ve all moved on to pack house work, and Caitlin is taking a woofing job at a yoga retreat in a week.  Krislin is also considering leaving a little bit sooner than planned.  Of course, without the cash, that’s not really an option for me.

The bar offers up a bunch of very odd pizza’s, some with satay sauce or cream cheese.  I ended up going with the equivilant of a meatlovers, which was good, if a little over heavy with the sausage.  Think Krislin ended up with the best one, taking the peanut, onion and red pepper.

There’s also free pool tonight, so most of the guys take over that corner until they start heading off.  Norma and I end up playing the last game of the night – which ends about as well as you’d expect from two girls who don’t really know how to play.  Norma ended up winning, but it was neck and neck for a while.

P1050888

Hopefully we’ll get work soon, but as of tonight, Team 11 has died.  There’s only Me, Caitlin and Krislin left.  Long live team 11.

About Batale

I am an aspiring writer - though since I haven't written anything original in about 2 years, so calling me a writer is like calling a man who makes dinner every night a 5 star chef. I started this blog to force me to write. From the 1st January 2013, I intend to update this blog every day. If nothing interesting happens, I'll write about something that does interest me, whether that is a movie, a book, something I've heard about, or even some of my stories growing up.
This entry was posted in Diary, New Zealand and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

