15th May – Stealth Pick

The next morning, I’m feeling much better.  Which is a good thing because Sohrab calls me up asking me to work.  Our team is having a day off so that Team Ten can work, but Team Nine is short of people.  Charles and Deacon are – due to them being yearly contractors – automatically included, and Charles can choose who he wants to take.  For whatever reason (probably because he can pick us up while he goes through Te Puke rather than worry about us getting lifts), he picks me and Krislin.  Sohrab also asks that we keep it secret from the rest of the group…which is kind of a ridiculous request because half of our group lives with the woman who does our payslips, and we interact we the team outside of work.  Hell, this afternoon we get a text asking if we want to do a Team Eleven barbeque!  Since neither Krislin or I want to lie, we reply that we’re working…we’re all adults and this is a one-time thing.  I highly doubt it’s going to cause issues.

As it happens there’s only a handful of swipes left, and we get left hanging around for nearly 75 minutes waiting for fruit to dry before we’re allowed to work, and we get about 4 hours of work before the orchard’s stripped clean.  Part of this is due to how fast some of these crew’s work.  The Vanuatuan team can strip a bay clean in 30 seconds, while Team Nine is composed of the Maori guys, who are almost as fast.  If we ever do green kiwi picking, I want to be on their team – we got through over 80 bins with 13 workers in 4 hours.

About Batale

I am an aspiring writer - though since I haven't written anything original in about 2 years, so calling me a writer is like calling a man who makes dinner every night a 5 star chef. I started this blog to force me to write. From the 1st January 2013, I intend to update this blog every day. If nothing interesting happens, I'll write about something that does interest me, whether that is a movie, a book, something I've heard about, or even some of my stories growing up.
This entry was posted in Diary, New Zealand and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

