14th May – Aint no Party Like a Bay Gold Party

I am getting SO SICK of being sick…this morning I’m up at 5am in serious pain.  End up doped to the gills and seriously contemplating calling in sick.  The only thing stopping me?  As of yesterday we finally finished harvesting the Bay Gold orchards and as a thank you, Bay Gold are putting on a barbeque at the end of the day.  As a backpacker, free food wins out over health every single time.  Since I feel relatively tolerable come leaving time, I head off.

We’re currently working in the first non-Bay Gold orchard.  They didn’t actually need all of Sohrab’s teams today, so Team 10 got the day off while we work.  It’s actually a pretty decent orchard – fruits at a decent level and there’s only a few chunks that are small and stalky.  We hate stalks – if you get a section where they’re really thin, you can pick one and find five falling into your bag – causing both raining and you having to stop to pick stalks off.  If the auditors checking the bins find more than three, the bin can be written off so you have to make sure to get them all.

It’s also the third time the heat found us picking with our kitty mascot.  Lily found herself in her carry case while we worked for the final part of the day.  Thankfully by this point we’re all used to her, while the guys driving the machinery were the ones stopping to check her out.  Think she was quite grateful when the day finished and Bertrand could open up the top to let her have a look around.

P1050862

Somehow I make it through the day and come 5am, we drive out of the main orchard since it’s up high, and down to the clearing at the bottom.  We have to clear the road so the truck can get to the bins (and it’s so steep the poor truck gets stuck too).  At the bottom, they’ve got a large hot plate Barbie going on, along with soft drinks and plenty of bread and sauce.  Options?  Steak and sausages.  Steak is really chewy, but the sausages are fantastic.  End up having three between two pieces of bread and loving every bite…at least until ten minutes later and my stomach protests violently.  Clearly not as better as I thought I was.

P1050870

End up going home and crashing in bed at 8 and praying this is a 24-hour thing.

About Batale

I am an aspiring writer - though since I haven't written anything original in about 2 years, so calling me a writer is like calling a man who makes dinner every night a 5 star chef. I started this blog to force me to write. From the 1st January 2013, I intend to update this blog every day. If nothing interesting happens, I'll write about something that does interest me, whether that is a movie, a book, something I've heard about, or even some of my stories growing up.
This entry was posted in Diary, New Zealand and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

