10th May – Astro Labe

We’ve spent quite a lot of time working with Team Eleven, but because we all live in different places, we don’t really interact outside of work.  Today, everyone decides to rectify that – there’s a bar in Mt. Manganui that sells a burger and beer for $10, so everyone is to head there tonight.  This is a bit of an issue for those of us without a car, but Norma and Bertrand say they can take Krislin, and M could take me…however M becomes impossible to contact and I have to frantically plan an alternative.  Thankfully Norma and Bertrand say they can take me too, and I make it to the bar on time.

P1050846

Astro Labe is a pretty awesome vintage style bar that lies directly opposite a backpackers.  Its normal menu is terrifyingly pricy, but on a Tuesday they have a ‘Tightass Tuesday’ offer, which makes it the must-be restaurant in town.  And the price is only half the reason – when I get the burger, I can see why it’s so popular.  It’s awesome, the bun is so fresh, the burger, though skinny, is fresh and tasty, and the salad is pretty well put together, plus it comes with friends (that have the skin attached, best fries ever).  Half of me is desperate to order a dessert because the burger is so good (hell, two of the group order another burger!), but I keep being convinced otherwise by the $12 price tag.

IMG_3685

Everyone but M and the Maori guys make it to the bar, including a few former members of Team Eleven who no longer work with us.  It’s kind of weird to see everyone out of work clothes and actually dolled up.  Also makes me feel a little bad because I haven’t bleached my hair in 3 months and it’s starting to turn that hideous so-light-blue-it’s-actually-kind-of-green colour that happens when I don’t refresh the dye.  But I’m refusing to spend money while I’m spending my days picking kiwi.

About Batale

I am an aspiring writer - though since I haven't written anything original in about 2 years, so calling me a writer is like calling a man who makes dinner every night a 5 star chef. I started this blog to force me to write. From the 1st January 2013, I intend to update this blog every day. If nothing interesting happens, I'll write about something that does interest me, whether that is a movie, a book, something I've heard about, or even some of my stories growing up.
This entry was posted in Diary, New Zealand and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

