7th May – Late to the Kiwi

Well it finally happened.  My decision to treat M like an adult came back to bite me.  Don’t think I’ve mentioned it before, but he is a nightmare to get out the door on time.  It takes on average, 12 minutes to get to an orchard, and we need to be there 15 minutes before the shift starts to sign in, get our bags, go through briefings, etc.  This means we need to be in the car and heading to the orchard 30 minutes before we start.  No other driver has had a problem with this – and to start with, neither did M.  However, once we stopped doing the convoy and it was only me he had to deal with…he started slipping.  The last three days have seen me chasing him up, trying to get him out the door.  We’ve been arriving later and later all week, but today was the last straw.  Had to be there for 11:30, a very late start even for us, and at 11 I was outside waiting for him.  When he didn’t appear, I headed inside and saw him in the kitchen, and urged him out.  He insisted he’d be right there.

Go outside.  Five minutes pass and I go back inside.  He’s at his locker reading through LEGAL DOCUMENTS.  He’s had the whole morning and NOW is when he chooses to look through them?  By the time he’s dragged himself away and gone through his ridiculously long car prep – for someone whose really not that great a driver he takes forever to get going – we’re ten minutes late.  By the time we get to the orchard its 25 past and there’s nobody around to direct cars, and the orchard we’re going to is hard to find.  I end up having to call up our supervisor and getting someone to guide us there.  We end up being fifteen minutes late, holding up both the guy who came to get us AND the supervisor.  I am SO glad M isn’t in my team today because I’m fuming.  Hopefully this will at least teach him the importance of leaving on time – if not I’m getting another lift and leaving him to his own devices because this is getting ridiculous.  I shouldn’t have to yell at a grown man to get him to leave on time.

Unfortunately, arguments abound today, when the orchard supervisors tell us we’re not working as fast as we could and there’s another bonus we could be making if we speed up.  All of us are sceptical of that because we’ve been told we’re making the bonus nearly every day.  We then discover that half the team believe we can’t make more than $16 no matter how well we do, while the other half are certain we’re making $18 with the bonus.  Everyone agrees we’re being paid correctly; we just can’t seem to figure out if the supervisors are right about additional bonuses or what we’re making.  I end up asking if Sohrab can bring us a copy of the contract just so we can figure it out and settle it once and for all.

In the evening, M warns me he doesn’t think he’ll make it to work tomorrow as he’s starting to feel a little under the weather.  Can’t say I’m too surprised – the hostel’s cold is doing its third wave through the new arrivals.  Not that it stops most of the hostel from having a party this evening involving a considerable amount of wine and beer.  I end up getting woken up at 2am by some moron drinking and hollering a conversation right outside my window, which didn’t go down well with my 2 roommates who had the night off from nightshift and were desperately catching up on sleep.  Really wish I’d been awake enough to remember who it was so I could return the favour while he was hungover…

About Batale

I am an aspiring writer - though since I haven't written anything original in about 2 years, so calling me a writer is like calling a man who makes dinner every night a 5 star chef. I started this blog to force me to write. From the 1st January 2013, I intend to update this blog every day. If nothing interesting happens, I'll write about something that does interest me, whether that is a movie, a book, something I've heard about, or even some of my stories growing up.
This entry was posted in Diary, New Zealand and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

