5th May – Learn to Run

We got our answer this morning, Norma and Bertrand are going to the Germans and Caitlin and Savannah are back.  This is not the only issue though – we arrive at the orchard only to discover my phone’s gone onto silent again (like most of my electronics, it’s completely broken) and we had a text to go to a different orchard.  Thankfully it’s just down the street and everyone’s being held up due to the rain overnight.  Eventually we get in – first up is strip pick.  Unfortunately, after the break, we have to drive back to the original orchard…and that’s when my troubles begin.  To save time, we all take our bags in the car, and due to the toilet being hard to find at the first orchard, I run to the one here.  Matius follows, and when I get back, everyone’s here with bags heading to the orchard, Matius has locked the car, so I urge him to hurry – he instead chooses to saunter back rather than jog over, insisting that people will wait for us.  He unlocks the car, we grab the bags, and I dart through the trees to the orchard where we’re all working.  Everyone’s started, so I get into the swipe and start working.

Ten minutes later, I realise M isn’t there.  We end up having to send a supervisor out to look for him, and he shows up about 20 minutes later – I honestly don’t know how since he was literally right behind me.  According to him, he forgot his phone so went back to get it and when he looked up, I was gone and he had no idea where I’d gone…so he went in the complete opposite direction necessary.  This despite the fact that when driving into the orchard, we could see the crowd on the opposite side of the trees, and when walking back from the toilet, he should have seen everyone walk through the treeline, watched ME walk through AND come back to get him in addition to me darting through at the end.  If nothing else, the huge crowd of people visible through the trees should have been a big enough hint.  Then again, he’s never hit me as the most aware guy – it’s been a week and I’m still having to direct him in the car to and from the orchards.  It’s literally remembering four turns and that’s it.  If I can remember it, the guy driving the car should be able to (although considering HOW he drives, maybe that’s giving him too much credit).  Shouldn’t make waves though, I need him to get to work, so need to keep my lip tight.

This orchard is yet another select pick, so we have to endure about 3 hours of our least favourite activity before heading back to the first orchard and fighting the possible rain brewing on the horizon for the last hour.  Fingers crossed that it’s all strip tomorrow.  On the plus side, we got paid today, so I actually have money!  Enough money to pay my bills AND have savings left over!

About Batale

I am an aspiring writer - though since I haven't written anything original in about 2 years, so calling me a writer is like calling a man who makes dinner every night a 5 star chef. I started this blog to force me to write. From the 1st January 2013, I intend to update this blog every day. If nothing interesting happens, I'll write about something that does interest me, whether that is a movie, a book, something I've heard about, or even some of my stories growing up.
This entry was posted in Diary, New Zealand and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

