4th May – Immigration

Interesting start to the day this morning – we get a text from Sohrab just before we leave that tells us some kind of Immigration/work officials were checking out our papers, so we had to make sure we had photo ID to prove we were allowed to work.  When we arrived, the most interesting thing was spotting that certain teams weren’t around, hmmm…

It was mostly making sure that our employers were paying us correctly and we weren’t paying any unexpected fees.  The biggest issue was that they took so long, we didn’t get into the fields for nearly half an hour.  We ended up showing up in drips and drabs throughout the morning before we could get started for good.  Picking was strip again, and we managed to get through without any issues – we’ve managed to get a really good team together, the only downside is we’ve lost Caitlin and Savannah to Team 10 to make up the numbers…and they are not happy about it.  That team is all German, they don’t speak to them, and they’re slow.  It’s been less than a day and they already miss ‘Team Elay-van!, Team Elay-van!’

Today was a really good day for them to miss too.  We ended up getting into a discussion about National ‘things.’  This included having to sing the National song – which became a problem for me since A) Scotland doesn’t actually have a National Song and B) the closest equivalent is only ever sung at sporting events, which I don’t really attend.  On my break I had to search on google for the lyrics to ‘Flower of Scotland’ so I can sing it to everyone after Chile and Argentina belted out theirs (turns out both countries have some serious rivalry/anger issues so it’s kind of funny when they get going).  We then went onto National flowers and animals, where I could totally take back points for not knowing the whole song – no country can beat out a Unicorn and a Thistle ^_^

By the end of the day, we’re pretty sure that Caitlin and Savannah will find their way back to us – just a question of who’ll take their place.

About Batale

I am an aspiring writer - though since I haven't written anything original in about 2 years, so calling me a writer is like calling a man who makes dinner every night a 5 star chef. I started this blog to force me to write. From the 1st January 2013, I intend to update this blog every day. If nothing interesting happens, I'll write about something that does interest me, whether that is a movie, a book, something I've heard about, or even some of my stories growing up.
This entry was posted in Diary, New Zealand and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

