28th April – And the Dominoes Keep Falling

Dammit, I’m starting to think I’m cursed.  This job is FINALLY giving us regular ours and the fates conspire to screw me over.  First we lose our lift, then our second lift double crosses us, and now we’ve discovered our third option REALLY doesn’t want to take us at all.

How do we know this?  Fuel came up at lunch time and we asked how much he wanted for fuel for the lifts, expecting the usual $20-25 we’ve been paying.  He replies:

$5 pick up, $5 drop off.  Each.

That’s $10 a day.  If we work 7 days a week we BOTH have to pay $70.  That’s ridiculous!  Apparently due to the roadworks and the fact that he normally uses the motorway, going through Te Puke takes him out of his way.  We frantically spend the rest of the afternoon trying to figure out an alternative, but they can only offer trips to work – and only Thur-Sun.  Other than that they can only offer 1 seat on occasion.  The other guys in our group don’t stay in Te Puke so they can’t help at all.

We manage to wrangle a lift from someone else that afternoon, and arrange a ride for the morning if we’re working, but we’re really frustrated and have to call our boss about it.  We’re not getting anywhere near the hours we were expecting and with this added expense I’ll need to work 2 days before I start making profit.  I will quit and walk into a packhouse before I do that.

Thankfully, my boss agrees that’s a ridiculous amount to ask, and calls the guy up.  Unfortunately when he explains his side of the story, my boss agrees that he’s going more out of the way than he thought, and so can only get him to drop it to $10 a day.  He also promises to look for more people at our hostel to join our team since the weather should allow for more hours soon – if we can get another couple of people with a car we’ll be sorted – until then we have to try and arrange trips ourselves.

It’s sad.  I really like this job.  I like our boss, I like the orchards and I like our team, but I’m getting nothing by frustration by sticking it out.  I swear, if he can’t find anyone by next week and the hours haven’t picked up, I don’t care how much I like the job, I’m looking for something else.  I am LITERALLY not being paid enough for this…

About Batale

I am an aspiring writer - though since I haven't written anything original in about 2 years, so calling me a writer is like calling a man who makes dinner every night a 5 star chef. I started this blog to force me to write. From the 1st January 2013, I intend to update this blog every day. If nothing interesting happens, I'll write about something that does interest me, whether that is a movie, a book, something I've heard about, or even some of my stories growing up.
This entry was posted in Diary, New Zealand and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

