25th April – ANZAC Day

ANZAC day is a public holiday, which means anyone working gets time and a half, so needless to say almost nobody was working.  Not the best of news since that made it 2 days in a row we hadn’t worked (Seriously, this season…).  I’m flat broke and busting into the savings I promised I wouldn’t touch just to make sure I’ve got enough food for Friday.  Last week I had to pay my rent in installments because I didn’t actually have enough before I got paid!  I have spent every single spare penny I had and got less than $400 to show for it when I was expecting a couple of grand by now.  I’ve literally gotten to the point where I CAN’T leave because I don’t have the money to do so!  This season needs to pick up and soon…

As an added bonus, there’s a cold running through the hostel, and today I woke up as its newest victim.  On a day where just about every shop is closed and getting medication is an exercise in futility.  I manage to find a shop selling someone worthwhile, and get into town in the morning just in time to watch the ANZAC parade through Te Puke’s main street.

As it’s a small town, it’s a small group, consisting of 3 vehicles and several dozen different military contingents.  The main even is a ceremony happening in the hall, and there’s speakers outside for everyone who can’t fit in the building.  I stay for the first part, but head back to the hostel to curl up in bed for a while.

We had planned to have a BBQ today, but the people most interested actually got to work today, I was too sick to plan anything, and a lot of other people got into their car and went to spend the day somewhere else, so most of it passed me in sleep or a slightly medicated haze.  Hopefully tomorrow I’ll feel a little bit better.

About Batale

I am an aspiring writer - though since I haven't written anything original in about 2 years, so calling me a writer is like calling a man who makes dinner every night a 5 star chef. I started this blog to force me to write. From the 1st January 2013, I intend to update this blog every day. If nothing interesting happens, I'll write about something that does interest me, whether that is a movie, a book, something I've heard about, or even some of my stories growing up.
This entry was posted in Diary, New Zealand and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

