19th April – Stupid Rain

Read the title and guess how my day went.

Yesterday we got a five hour shift doing yet another specialty pick of gold kiwi (there are few phrases that can get a larger groan than THAT one at my hostel right now), but today we were picking green kiwi, and that had all of us elated because it’s contract and we had to pick it clean.  You can make good money doing this given half a chance so we all took the challenge.

The orchard was frustrating compared to the gold kiwi.  For one thing it wasn’t well pruned to a lot of them were tiny, and as an added bonus they were all either really high or really low.  We had to constantly yell for someone tall or someone short when we hit areas we couldn’t do on our own.

Two and a half hours into the day, starting to get into the swing of things, and the heavens opened.  Completely caught us by surprise as the forecast said sun all week, but we all got driven to our cars for lunch while we prayed for it to stop.

It didn’t.  And we had to leave with only a handful of bins to our name.

 

About Batale

I am an aspiring writer - though since I haven't written anything original in about 2 years, so calling me a writer is like calling a man who makes dinner every night a 5 star chef. I started this blog to force me to write. From the 1st January 2013, I intend to update this blog every day. If nothing interesting happens, I'll write about something that does interest me, whether that is a movie, a book, something I've heard about, or even some of my stories growing up.
This entry was posted in Diary, New Zealand and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

