13th March – Kraken Crumpets

I’m going to have to face the music shortly.  It’s been nearly 2 months in Auckland, and I’ve yet to find permanent work.  With my short (but highly enjoyable) stint at the University Book Store over and done with, I need to find another gig.  After this point, I’ve decided to give myself a week, and then move on.  I know the kiwi season is going to start pretty much within the next week, so if Auckland fails me, I’ll move on to the farming areas.

Thankfully, I do have some sources of income to work with.  I’ve replied to a few adverts – one for a temporary gig in a food cart at a music festival next weekend, and an opportunity to work on St. Patrick’s Day at a pub – with a chance to work full time.  Both reply, so if nothing else, I have at least 4 day’s works coming up.

The food cart is Kraken Crumpets, and they seem happy enough to take me.  They even ask me to work Sunday as a trial shift while they work at Auckland Fair.  I’m certainly not going to say no, and on Sunday I head over to the regular craft market.  KC is one of 2 food carts, the other is a gourmet hot dog stand.  The Crumpets are definitely more fitting for the market.

photo

The batter is made beforehand, and cooked on the hot plate.  As someone who has only ever eaten crumpets with butter, I’d never realised how much you could do with them – the options are a basil, tomato and pesto one, a bacon and egg one, a banana and salted caramel one, and a blueberry and chocolate ganache one.  There’s also the option of just jam, butter or honey etc. if you like things basic.  My main job is taking orders, but later I’m working the hotplate and putting together the additional toppings.  The work is fairly basic, and kind of looking forward to doing it at the festival.

About Batale

I am an aspiring writer - though since I haven't written anything original in about 2 years, so calling me a writer is like calling a man who makes dinner every night a 5 star chef. I started this blog to force me to write. From the 1st January 2013, I intend to update this blog every day. If nothing interesting happens, I'll write about something that does interest me, whether that is a movie, a book, something I've heard about, or even some of my stories growing up.
This entry was posted in Diary, New Zealand and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

