26th Febuary – Auckland University

For the next three weeks, I’ll be working at the book store at the Auckland University. Normally they don’t need temps, but since the Semester starts next week, every single student is hunting down their books and they need the extra help.

The biggest issue is course books. Not all of them are printed yet, and we need to know which ones are where, since the text books at least have a map. These ones don’t. It’s not a huge shop, but there’s so many sections that it takes a long time to figure out what’s where.

Unfortunately, we only get about an hour to try and figure it out, because once 10am hits, the swarms arrive. There’s a queue of five minimum at the tills all day, and come lunch, it actually wraps around the store and back up again. It doesn’t help that the EFPTOS machines can’t handle the sheer immensity of the lines and keep frying every 20 minutes. It’s next to impossible to clear the line.

At least its busy and interesting. Plus, my fellow temps are pretty nice, although the main staff are a mixed bag. Some are great, while others seem to wear a perpetual scowl and I honestly can’t tell if they’re annoyed at me, or just have that kind of face.

About Batale

I am an aspiring writer - though since I haven't written anything original in about 2 years, so calling me a writer is like calling a man who makes dinner every night a 5 star chef. I started this blog to force me to write. From the 1st January 2013, I intend to update this blog every day. If nothing interesting happens, I'll write about something that does interest me, whether that is a movie, a book, something I've heard about, or even some of my stories growing up.
This entry was posted in Diary, New Zealand and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

