21st February – Chinese Lantern Festival

This weekend there’s a festival happening in the Auckland Domain. This is a large park about 15 minutes from the city centre which hosts the Auckland Museum and generally has events going on. This one is in honour of Chinese New Year – and has filled the park with Chinese lanterns. And these aren’t just simple little boxes, we’re talking full on scenes here.

P1050586

The park is also filled with Asian food stands, with 20 person long queues. I’m hungry, but that’s not a line I’m waiting in. I do actually find a shorter queue for a Japanese stand that’s selling egg cakes, which I’ve never seen before…and instantly fall in love with. They’re delicious. Also grab a candy apple from another stall…which is a mistake as my teeth can barely handle the chewing. I end up with red juice all over me.

P1050600

In the far end of the park, there’s also a theatre showing various Chinese performances. This includes musicians, acrobats and when I arrived, puppet theatre. This was pretty awesome – it’s all in Chinese, and it’s hard to follow – it’s a scene from the Monkey King. However, the second part is a lot easier – it’s set at a lake, and involves a pair of geese, some hatching eggs and a frog. It’s funny, it’s cute, and involves dancing eggs and break dancing duck puppets.

The next day, there’s fireworks happening late in the evening, so my roommates all decide to go as a group. Unfortunately, we get separated into two groups, and I end up with the group of German girls…who naturally start speaking German all evening. After an hour of them forgetting I can’t speak it, I decide to call it quits and head off on my own. Manage to make my way back to the main area near the museum, and settle down for the fireworks.

I’ll give Auckland this, it loves fireworks. And they’re always good. Perhaps it’s due to it being part of Chinese New Year, but it’s a great show. Well worth seeing.

When I get back, my roommates apologise, but I honestly don’t mind. They got side tracked and never actually got back to the museum for the fireworks, so worked out for me.

About Batale

I am an aspiring writer - though since I haven't written anything original in about 2 years, so calling me a writer is like calling a man who makes dinner every night a 5 star chef. I started this blog to force me to write. From the 1st January 2013, I intend to update this blog every day. If nothing interesting happens, I'll write about something that does interest me, whether that is a movie, a book, something I've heard about, or even some of my stories growing up.
This entry was posted in Diary, New Zealand and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

