10th February – Mt. Eden

It’s taken a few false starts, but today I’m finally getting to go up Mt Eden. It takes a while to get there from central, but I was in that area for a sales interview so I had a good idea of where to go. Technically I could have walked, but it’s a little too muggy to handle any more walking than I have to. How the lazy have fallen.

There are several hills in Auckland’s city limits, but Mt Eden is the tallest. There are several ways up, including steps, and the long rolling paths that Auckland seems to love. I decided to take the long way and enjoy the scenery – it doesn’t seem like much, but in the muggy temperature, a moderate walk was actually a lot more taxing than I expected.

Once upon a time, Mt Eden was an active volcano, but it’s been dead a long time. The crater is still visible, but you’re not allowed to enter, both for safety reasons and because it has significance to the locals. However, the several hills that make up the rest of the area more than make up for it. The view of Auckland is pretty spectacular.

However, I decided to play a little Darwin Award and when I was heading back down, decided to run. Running down a dirt hill in muggy weather…ends about as badly as you’d expect.

Long story short, I misstep, and go flying across the dirt, wrecking my knee and elbow, and get to enjoy walking home covered in Eden dirt because I can’t find the right bus stop to get back in town.

Typical, I’ve climbed mountains without a scratch, and get beaten by a freakin hill…

About Batale

I am an aspiring writer - though since I haven't written anything original in about 2 years, so calling me a writer is like calling a man who makes dinner every night a 5 star chef. I started this blog to force me to write. From the 1st January 2013, I intend to update this blog every day. If nothing interesting happens, I'll write about something that does interest me, whether that is a movie, a book, something I've heard about, or even some of my stories growing up.
This entry was posted in Diary, New Zealand and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

