26th January – Barista Cats

I’ve spent the last day or so shooting my CV to various recruitment agencies and job vacancies in the hopes of getting a hit. I don’t really want to spend money, but I also don’t want to spend a week wasting money on food and a hostel and doing nothing. So as a compromise, I’ve decided to try and do at least one fun thing a day with a small budget. Today’s attraction was something I spotted on a walk a few days ago, a charming little place called ‘Barista Cats’ – Auckland’s second cat café.

That’s right. SECOND cat café. Apparently they opened within weeks of each other, but since this one is in walking distance, it wins my time. It costs $15 for an hour (drink included) and you need to book a slot, so I strolled in at 2pm and picked up an iced chocolate before sitting down in furry, fluffy paradise.

P1050541

The cats are most active in the morning – by the time I arrived the cats were now heading into sleep mode, and were mostly indulging in petting. The one that got most of my attention was Banksy, a very fluffy ginger tabby whose been on the streets before ending up here. The week before he had to have all his teeth removed due to problems, so he’s not feeling very well and drooling quite a bit, so is getting extra TLC while he recovers. As such he was glued to my side in order to get belly rubs most of the hour.

P1050538

Most of the other cats maintained their distance…until I ordered a slice of cake. Then I found myself the object of many attentions. Two kittens, a feline known as ‘Hamburglar’ and ‘Zuul’ all swarmed on my table. Trying to eat it while keeping it away from them was something of a challenge. Thankfully the waitress and manager came over to run interference, though not soon enough to keep one of the kittens from mangling my straw in the drink. Least it was finished.

P1050546

I adored these fluffy fuzzballs – fully intend to go back again, though probably in the morning so I can play as well as cuddle.

While I was at the café though, I got an email offering me an interview at a sales and marketing company I’d applied for. Great…except it asked me to show up in smart business wear.

I’m a backpacker. This is not really something I have. My go-to interview outfit is my travel dress and my sandals. It’s very much a casual business outfit. Perfectly respectable, but my ankle tattoo is on show and the shoes aren’t great. So I decide to spend a few hours trying to find a cheap pair of shoes and maybe a jacket to spruce up the outfit.

Dear LORD but it is hard to find good shoes on a budget. Went to a dozen shops and only 2 had options in my price range, and all of them were ugly. Plus, I didn’t actually have the dress, so had to visualise if they would be any good. Nothing looked right at all…in the end I decided on a pair of boots that certainly aren’t perfect, but were $7 and cover my ankle and most of my legs without me having to wear leggings in this heat. Push comes to shove, if I miss out on the job because my shoes weren’t classy enough, I clearly wasn’t giving that good an interview anyway. Besides, my hair is blue, ‘smart business’ is already hard enough to reach.

About Batale

I am an aspiring writer - though since I haven't written anything original in about 2 years, so calling me a writer is like calling a man who makes dinner every night a 5 star chef. I started this blog to force me to write. From the 1st January 2013, I intend to update this blog every day. If nothing interesting happens, I'll write about something that does interest me, whether that is a movie, a book, something I've heard about, or even some of my stories growing up.
This entry was posted in Diary, New Zealand, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

