23rd January – Auckland

How I can have jetlag when I only moved forward 3 hours AND went to bed soon as I could is beyond me, but jetlag I have. It takes a herculean effort on my part to get out of bed, and I still end up taking 2 naps during the day to help me out.

I’m quickly learning that arriving at the weekend probably wasn’t my smartest move. The banks are shut, so I can’t arrange an appointment, which means I can’t apply for my IR number. The bad news continues when I look for a NZ sim, only to find my options are less than spectacular. None really offer International calls unless you buy add ons, which take them out of my price range. In the end I decide to try my luck with 2degrees – whose sim is free at the hostel and offers value packs. The data option is pathetic, but it does give me 300 minutes of international calls a month.

I also arrange my next hostel after 2 people recommend it. On Monday I’ll transfer to Frenz for a week, while I plan my next move and search for work. It’s also next door to a puzzle room, so think I might try to arrange a group on my birthday.

The highlight of my day though, was meeting German backpacker Simon in the evening. We bonded over his Gravity Falls shirt, and spent most of the evening sharing funny memes and trading theories and hopes for the GS finale in February. It’s been FAR too long since I got to talk fandom with people. Actually went up to my room at 11pm intending to sleep only to keep talking about Suicide Squad and Civil War and watching Midnight arrive.

Really shouldn’t have worried though, cause my roommates are all up and ranting. Still not 100% certain on what happened, but one of their sort-of boyfriends was a dick, and they decided to get their own back by going out with another guy. This chaos and drunken nightmare circled the room until about 2am. Really hoping I can get up tomorrow – have to be up at 7…

About Batale

I am an aspiring writer - though since I haven't written anything original in about 2 years, so calling me a writer is like calling a man who makes dinner every night a 5 star chef. I started this blog to force me to write. From the 1st January 2013, I intend to update this blog every day. If nothing interesting happens, I'll write about something that does interest me, whether that is a movie, a book, something I've heard about, or even some of my stories growing up.
This entry was posted in Diary, New Zealand, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

