13th January – Parrots in Paradise

Well, after a month in Caloundra, I’m packing up and heading South to my old haunt in the Glass House Mountains.  Before I leave Australia, I really want to go back to Parrots in Paradise.  However, that had been a little more complicated than planned, as the rules regarding regional work had changed.  You now need to pay workers for regional work, which means a lot of places that used to host them no longer can.  PIP was one of them, so they now work with the Work for the Dole program rather than hosting backpackers. 

Originally I was going to stay 2 weeks, but when I realised this, I asked if it would be easier for me to do a few days and commute in.  It was…until I got there and learned that they’d lost nearly all their original workers and were training up new people.  They still had the sleep out room…so I decided to finish up in Caloundra and head over there for one last week, since I haven’t heard from Escape Room Oz in nearly 2 weeks and I’m just throwing money away at food while at the backpackers.

It’s rather painful to leave though.  For one thing I have to see goodbye to All Class Gym, which has been one of the best gyms I’ve ever been a part of.  The classes are great, and the teachers actually feel like they care about how well you do.  I’m really going to miss them. 

While I’m still in Caloundra, I also stop by the Charly Angelz Hairdresser, since they’re a store that stock the Alunum dye in my hair…unfortunately the colour isn’t in stock, so instead I take it what’s left of my Manic Panic and have them dye my hair before colouring it in.  Means I actually get to use the dye, and not destroy a hostel bathroom in the process.  My scalp and neck are covered though – gonna be getting blue everywhere for a while.

Thankfully, the colour will fit right in amongst the parrots, but I’m still going to miss Caloundra.  I’ll miss Jesse and Janet, and what little job I actually had, and the gym.  It’s been a while since I’ve gotten that settled in a place.  Give it a few days to shake off, which at least is being held somewhere I already know.

About Batale

I am an aspiring writer - though since I haven't written anything original in about 2 years, so calling me a writer is like calling a man who makes dinner every night a 5 star chef. I started this blog to force me to write. From the 1st January 2013, I intend to update this blog every day. If nothing interesting happens, I'll write about something that does interest me, whether that is a movie, a book, something I've heard about, or even some of my stories growing up.
This entry was posted in Australia, Diary and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

