25th December – Merry Christmas

You know, considering how nice the weather’s been the last fortnight, waking up on Christmas Day to a miserable grey morning almost feels unfair.

It’s not quite raining, but it’s definitely not beach weather, and results in most of the hostel sticking around waiting for it to clear up – which it thankfully is doing.  It also causes a great barbeque debate as we were going to have one in the evening, and now we’re wondering if lunch makes more sense.

We end up sticking to the original plan, as come noon the sun is out and everyone migrates to the beach.  It’s mobbed down here, with santa hats bobbing in the water and bikini clad girls in beards run around the surf.  Most people are in the water, waiting for the waves to crash over them and see how far they go.  Very few bodyboards as there’s too many people, but people are managing to travel pretty far without them.  I have a go myself, and although it’s fun, there are WAY too many people.  Get whacked a few times by other’s caught on the same wave, and one ripple of current ends up taking me a lot further from where I started than I thought possible.  After half an hour, I have to get out to recover, and decide to take over a construction project not too far from where we’re all sitting.

Someone’s dug a giant hole with a wall around it.  I decide to add some kind of fortress slightly up the beach, and create a wall travelling towards it.  Considering I had no tools and it was VERY soft sand, this was not an easy task.  Nor did it look particularly impressive – however I was pleased, and seriously considered expanding even more…but decided to head back to the hostel where I could get painkillers instead.  Clearly the right decision considering I completely forgot to take photos of my kingdom.

By the time everyone is back and showered (and my hair has lost about 10 shades of blue thanks to the saltwater, goddammit), its BBQ time!  Jesse, Janet and Izzie have gone all out with salads and additional dips, and there’s plenty of sausage and steak.  By the time everyone’s had seconds, they’re pretty much full to bursting, which is kind of sad considering we have dessert on its way.

Earlier in the week I’d bought a pinata on impulse, and left it upstairs with a request to ‘fill santa’s tummy’.  Everyone came through, and now we had a cardboard santa full of sweets to whack to death.  Once we had him hung up, we had a line of people ready to knock him to pieces.

P1050375

We may have filled him a little too much – because it took less than 5 people before his poor legs shattered and we had a mountain of candy on the floor – which was gone in a matter of seconds once people descended upon it.  Went down really well at least.

Finally, we had the Secret Santa exchange, which everyone had been waiting for all day.  Last week everyone had to pick names out of a hat, and buy a gift for that person.  I’d ended up with a guy called Marco, an Italian who spent every day fishing, so I bought him a cheap fishing game and some Italian chocolates.  Sadly, he left early this morning, so I never actually got to see his reaction.

On the plus side, I did get something pretty awesome.  Thanks to my constant jigsaw doing, I’ve gained the nickname ‘Puzzle Girl’.  And my secret santa decided the best gift would be a keychain in the form of a functional Rubix Cube!  It was very awesome, and takes the place of my broken keychain on my bag.

All in all, pretty great Christmas – now we just have to wait until New Years..

About Batale

I am an aspiring writer - though since I haven't written anything original in about 2 years, so calling me a writer is like calling a man who makes dinner every night a 5 star chef. I started this blog to force me to write. From the 1st January 2013, I intend to update this blog every day. If nothing interesting happens, I'll write about something that does interest me, whether that is a movie, a book, something I've heard about, or even some of my stories growing up.
This entry was posted in Australia, Diary and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

