24th December – Caloundra

Last day before Christmas, and last day of proper exercise classes before going onto the reduced Christmas timetable.  Unfortunately, I’m cleaning in the morning so can only make the 6am class, but it’s better than nothing. 

Considering it’s Christmas tomorrow, I’m well aware people are going to rip the kitchens and bathrooms apart, so try to get through changing the few rooms that are emptied as quick as possible so I can focus on clearing up the crap in the kitchen.  The last couple of days have gone from acceptably dirty to ‘oh-dear-god-I’m-not-even-paid-to-do-this’ and frankly it’s getting on my nerves.  Least I’m not working Christmas Day, that morning has fallen to Manon and Sam.

I’ve barely finished cleaning when I get a text from Escape Room Oz, asking if I can work a few hours, so the rest of my afternoon is spent actually earning money, and helping to run the Yowie Cave for the booking’s we’d had.  Getting pretty good at handling Outback Hell and Yowie – just need to buckle down and focus when setting the rooms back up, everything needs to be locked and checked to make sure nothing’s missing.  Yowie Cave is easy…so long as you let people know where you hide the clues!

I get out after 3 hours, just in time to head back to the hostel for one piece of Christmas Eve celebrating I’m doing.  Yesterday the regulars at the hostel got together and decided they wanted to go out for a meal tonight – specifically to the Nepalese Restaurant just down the street.  Sounded like a great idea, so I agreed, scanned the menu for something I was brave enough to try, and was ready 20 minutes to 7 for a 7pm reservation.

However…I was the ONLY one ready.  One girl decided to start a Skype chat 10 minutes before we left, several were still getting changed, and the manager had decided to go for a ‘quick surf’ before dinner and was still in the show.  I ended up leaving after 15 minutes with said managers mother (who is staying at the hostel until her new job starts) as we’re the only ones ready.  The rest of them don’t actually turn up at the restaurant until about 7:30!  Mindless of the fact that the owner’s had to schedule additional staff for such a large reservation and just sheer etiquette!

My fellow hostel mates aside though, it was a good night.  We all ended up splitting sharing plates for starters so we could try the dumplings and chicken and croquettes, and got to play with the bottle they keep Nepalese Rum in.  It’s made to look like a ghurka blade and looks awesome.

I decided to try a dish whose name escapes me, even when ordering it – but it consisted of beef cooked in a peanut sauce.  The first half of it was great – the flavours really worked and was tucking in…but I hit some kind of seed or spice midway through and it sent the foulest taste all over my mouth.  Almost felt like I’d rinsed my mouth with chemical cleaner.  Lost the desire to keep eating after that, though did end up having it tossed in a takeaway tub for later – like quite a few people unable to finish.

In the evening most of the group took to drinking in the garden, while I took advantage of a quiet upstairs to hop online and message a few people back home – been hard to contact them the last few weeks, and probably my last chance before New Years.  Ended up overdoing it and not getting to bed around 2!

About Batale

I am an aspiring writer - though since I haven't written anything original in about 2 years, so calling me a writer is like calling a man who makes dinner every night a 5 star chef. I started this blog to force me to write. From the 1st January 2013, I intend to update this blog every day. If nothing interesting happens, I'll write about something that does interest me, whether that is a movie, a book, something I've heard about, or even some of my stories growing up.
This entry was posted in Australia, Diary and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

