23rd December – Caloundra

Woot!  For the first time ever, I get support during cleaning! 

New girl Carolyn has arrived, and she’s on the same day’s as me.  The downside to this is I have to train her, but it also means it takes a lot less time.  She’s never cleaned in a hostel before, but she seems to pick it up pretty quickly.  Only issue I can really see is one you get a lot with hostel cleaners – its very much a ‘that’ll do’ attitude rather than going that little extra step.  Thankfully it’s not too hard to catch a few little things.

Today is the last day of the gym as well.  Thanks to cleaning, I can’t make the morning class, but will be making it to the Boot Camp in the evening.  This gets a little more awkward for me though when we get an email telling us the location is now Moffat Beach – a good 40 minute walk away minimum…and one I’ve never actually been to.

End up giving myself a good hour to get there – and ever extra minute was needed considering I got lost several dozen times.  Ironically the class started late since other people weren’t sure where to go anyway.

This is only the second time I’ve ever done a Boot Camp Class, but I’m suddenly understanding why they have such a tough rep.  The exercises weren’t tough, but once you try to do them on soft, soft sand?  A simple jog becomes agonisingly tough.  I was barely, if at all, keeping up with the others – it took everything I had not to fall to my knees and crawl.

Annoyingly, the one exercise I knew I COULD do, which involved back to back squats, had me partnered with someone who really couldn’t do them – so that didn’t quite work out either.  Though to be fair, considering I could barely do any of the other exercises, doubtful anyone who could do them wanted to be stuck with me.

Thankfully, the instructor gave me a ride back to the hostel so I didn’t have to hike back after an hour of boot camp.  Really like the guys at this school – sad that I only get a few more weeks after New Years to enjoy them.

Sadly, the day ends on a slight hiccup.  My phone has decided to go the way of my iPod and start malfunctioning.  It’s constantly on silent no matter what I do, resulting in me missing several texts and a few calls from Escape Room Oz.  Thankfully I catch one of the calls when I hear it vibrate.  Turns out I hid the clues in the Yowie Cave too well – not only can the people in the room not find them, but Darren can’t either!  So I frantically have to think back to where I put them (honestly thinking I’d put them in their normal places) and guide them to the last nut.  Thankfully they found the damn thing and everything turned out okay, but feel kind of bad about that…

About Batale

I am an aspiring writer - though since I haven't written anything original in about 2 years, so calling me a writer is like calling a man who makes dinner every night a 5 star chef. I started this blog to force me to write. From the 1st January 2013, I intend to update this blog every day. If nothing interesting happens, I'll write about something that does interest me, whether that is a movie, a book, something I've heard about, or even some of my stories growing up.
This entry was posted in Australia, Diary and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

