22nd December – Caloundra

Christmas is just around the corner, and I’m not working today.  On top of this, after tomorrow my gym classes are cancelled for the holidays and the week after will only have one session each day.  So, to make sure I get as much exercise as I can, I’m hitting up every class there is today, starting with a 6am Kettlebells class.

To be fair, I’m definitely noticing an improvement in my ability to move after a week of intensive training.  I’m back up to my usual 20 burpees (when my legs aren’t on fire from previous sessions), but the warm up for kettlebells was some of the most painful minutes of my life.  The class itself was nowhere near as hard as the start.  I was kind of grateful when it ended that the next class at 10:30 was a Core Training class and didn’t require a lot of running.

This is true, but a lot of the exercises involve movements my body just cannot do.  Introduced me to a sitting squat that you see a lot of people do in Thailand, and told me that if you can perform this exercise, you don’t need to worry about doing a dozen leg stretches, it pretty much works everything important.  I’m only pulling it off as well as I am since I’m still loose from kettlebells, but keep it in mind for future stretching.

Afterwards I managed to get a few hours to myself before I have to make it to the gym for my first session with Ash, a personal trainer – whose job is to make sure I know how to use the equipment for whatever I’m looking to improve.  Won’t see her regularly – I can’t afford it, but at least learn the best equipment for fixing up my upper arms, which have never been very strong.

It also gives me access to running and cycling machines, so I can watch the damn Star Wars Movies before I go see this new one everybody’s going gaga over (easiest way to do a lot of running/cycling?  Pick a show/movie and forbid yourself to watch it unless you’re on an exercise machine.  Works like a charm).

In the evening, the fun continues by dropping into the boxing class, which is pretty nostalgic of my Taekwondo classes.  This gym technically does kickboxing classes as well, but I’ve so far avoided them – the boxing however seems a pretty safe bet.

Finally, and with most of my body crying for mercy, I finish off with an hour of yoga and pilates.  Which is run by a woman several months pregnant (and yet, can still stretch into positions I can only dream of -_-). 

I think after today, my body’s grateful the classes are going to be dropping to one a day next week.  Though it still has to survive Boot Camp tomorrow…

About Batale

I am an aspiring writer - though since I haven't written anything original in about 2 years, so calling me a writer is like calling a man who makes dinner every night a 5 star chef. I started this blog to force me to write. From the 1st January 2013, I intend to update this blog every day. If nothing interesting happens, I'll write about something that does interest me, whether that is a movie, a book, something I've heard about, or even some of my stories growing up.
This entry was posted in Australia, Diary and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

