21st December – Caloundra

This was by far the busiest Escape Room Oz has been since I’ve worked there, as we had a birthday party booking out the entire building.  They didn’t endear themselves too much when they arrived late as we had a group coming in after them, but the biggest obstacle was figuring out who was going in each room.  The one’s that had planned to enter the Yowie Cave hadn’t actually been told what the place was like, and weren’t really dressed for it.  After several minutes of bickering, Darren was put in charge and picked the 4 guys who were wearing closed shoes while the others split up for Time Traveller and Outback Hell.

When you’ve got 3 games running it’s hard to keep track of what’s going on.  There’s only two screens for sound so one game has to go without.  I was put in charge of the Yowie Cave since it was the easiest (although it ended up being less of an issue as the guys in the room put the walkie talkie’s volume down by accident and couldn’t hear me any more than I could hear them, which gave them a lot of trouble).  The Outback Hell group was the first to get out, closely followed by Yowie Cave, and finally the Time Travellers failed to escape.  It was a quick turnaround in order to get the next group in, and we forgot to take some of the photos, but I did at least get the Yowie Cave put back together.  Since I hadn’t been able to supervise entirely, these guys had managed to rip apart the room!  They’d even taken off part of the wall I’d told them not to touch before entering!  Really have to keep a close eye on the people in the dark…

After that, we left Darren to his last group and I headed back to the hostel, where I learn everyone is planning a Secret Santa with a $5 gift.  I join in and manage to pick a name I actual know!  The gentleman in question is an Italian fisherman, so I’m thinking of hunting down one of those children’s cheap fishing games and some chocolates.

About Batale

I am an aspiring writer - though since I haven't written anything original in about 2 years, so calling me a writer is like calling a man who makes dinner every night a 5 star chef. I started this blog to force me to write. From the 1st January 2013, I intend to update this blog every day. If nothing interesting happens, I'll write about something that does interest me, whether that is a movie, a book, something I've heard about, or even some of my stories growing up.
This entry was posted in Australia, Diary and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

