15th December – Yowie Cave

Made it to the 6am class this morning, and it was a little depressing.  Back home I could do 20 burpees without it becoming too hard.  Now I can barely do 5.  Clearly I need these classes more than I thought.  Going to miss the evening one though, since I have the Yowie Cave to clear with Mason and Janet.

The Yowie Cave is technically the easiest of the caves as it only has 4 clues.  However, its simulated to look like an actual cave – dirt floor, fake rocks, and no light.  On top of this, you enter the room handcuffed and blindfolded.  Due to these issues and the size limitations, only 4 can enter at a time.  For us, Darren decided to make it even harder and not even give us a torch.  He regretted that eventually and allowed us one when he realised the game is almost impossible without one (you CAN find a headlight in the cave, but even that doesn’t have much light). 

This room might only have 4 puzzles, but since you’re working in the dark and the dirt, if you get stuck, you get STUCK.  We spent 20 minutes all but wandering round the room trying to figure out what we were meant to do.  Had to dig for a bit and find a clue, but it completely scuppered us for most of our time.

That said, we did eventually have a breakthrough (compliments of Darren who gave us a hint) and managed to get out with around 20 minutes left on the clock, a lot faster than he was expecting as he’d ordered pizza for all of us to arrive in about 15 minutes!  So to pass the time we spoke about the rooms – how hard/easy they were and what we’d change.  The Yowie Cave is deceptively hard for its simplicity – definitely prefer the Outback for how interesting the plot is.

The final room is The Time Traveller Room, which is the hardest room in the building.  It’s recommended you don’t even attempt it without at least a team of 6, because it has at least 20 puzzles and some have to be done at the same time.  It’s the one room people regularly fail at, and people have come in several times to try and complete it.  I’ll be seeing how the room works before I play it sadly, but hopefully I’ll be able to play it before I leave.

About Batale

I am an aspiring writer - though since I haven't written anything original in about 2 years, so calling me a writer is like calling a man who makes dinner every night a 5 star chef. I started this blog to force me to write. From the 1st January 2013, I intend to update this blog every day. If nothing interesting happens, I'll write about something that does interest me, whether that is a movie, a book, something I've heard about, or even some of my stories growing up.
This entry was posted in Diary and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

