14th December – Outback Hell

Organised to do Outback Hell this evening with my two volunteers from the hostel, but I also have something else to do today.

Since the job hunt has only resulted in a casual gig, I’ve decided to work on my body rather than my bank account.  There’s a fitness centre in the centre of Caloundra, which offers multiple classes throughout the day.  On cleaning days I can’t make the 10:30 class, but I CAN make the 6am and 5:30 am classes.  It’s kind of pricy, but not if I go to as many classes as possible, and I make a point to go to the 6am ones.

Admittedly, I’m exhausted after one class – its been far too long since I actually did any proper exercise, but I have to start somewhere.

My new boss Darren, greets us at around 5:30 and we are sent to Outback Hell.  This room is set up to look like an old shed in the outback, but it has a lot of gory surprises within.  Without giving away too much of the plot, this room isn’t locked – we have to solve the mystery of the room.  Its the medium difficulty and has about 10 puzzles to solve.  Along the way you find some nasty surprises that go with the room, all while trying to get the keys to an insanely complex looking padlock on a green case.  Apparently this padlock was found at some kind of market, god only knows what it was designed for.  I kind of want to take it home.

You get an hour to complete the room, and the three of us managed to make it with about 13 minutes to spare.  We got a little bogged down in the middle when we couldn’t find a clue (turned out, it wasn’t in the room and a red faced employee had to come in and hand it to us!) and at the end when we couldn’t figure out if simple instructions were a trick (they weren’t).

It’s actually a lot of fun, and we were all psyched to do the Yowie Cave…but they’re booked up so we’ll have to come tomorrow.

About Batale

I am an aspiring writer - though since I haven't written anything original in about 2 years, so calling me a writer is like calling a man who makes dinner every night a 5 star chef. I started this blog to force me to write. From the 1st January 2013, I intend to update this blog every day. If nothing interesting happens, I'll write about something that does interest me, whether that is a movie, a book, something I've heard about, or even some of my stories growing up.
This entry was posted in Australia, Diary and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

