9th December – Caloundra

After several days of job hunts and futile money spending, I finally decided to cut my losses and get out of Melbourne before it drained me dry.  My attempts at finding work on the Gold Coast have been as fruitless as Melbourne, and all my Gumtree add has found are cash in hand gigs.  However, I have been offered work for accommodation in Caloundra on the Sunshine Coast, so decide to head that way.

I was in Caloundra last year, so I know the general area.  However I’d forgotten just how out of the way it could be if you don’t drive.  It’s an hour by train from Brisbane, and then has a 30 minute bus trip from Landsborough Station.  At the very least, the buses are pretty regular.

Caloundra Backpackers is a pretty large building on the outskirts of the city centre, 20 minutes walk from Kings Beach.  The manager is Jesse, a 21 year old Australian who seems a nice enough guy.  There are 2 other cleaners at the moment, with another arriving on the 20th.  The deal is working 10am-2pm 3 days a week in exchange for accommodation, which is pretty standard.  Still going to look for paid work in town though.

About Batale

I am an aspiring writer - though since I haven't written anything original in about 2 years, so calling me a writer is like calling a man who makes dinner every night a 5 star chef. I started this blog to force me to write. From the 1st January 2013, I intend to update this blog every day. If nothing interesting happens, I'll write about something that does interest me, whether that is a movie, a book, something I've heard about, or even some of my stories growing up.
This entry was posted in Australia, Diary and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

