5-6th December – Tattoo and Body Art Convention

Now that I’ve gotten my re-colour done, I can actually enjoy watching other people suffer, and head to my main goal in Melbourne, the Tattoo and Body Art Convention.  In my hometown there used to be a very popular tattoo convention each year, but I could never make it due to work.  The one year I did wrangle time off, it had to be cancelled due to insurance issues.  So I was pretty stoked to make it this time.

Although I will say, I’m not impressed with how the tickets are done.  Its $30 a ticket ($25 if you bought online), but it only covers one day.  You need to buy an additional entry ticket for $15 if you want to come more than once.

The tattoos and artists themselves however, were pretty impressive.  There was one guy getting a full back tattoo of The Avengers, and spent most of Saturday getting Iron Man inked on.  The detail on this thing was immense – honestly don’t know how the guy survived 6 hours of back work.  There was also a guy from Singapore who had these incredible watercolour style tattoos – I was enraptured by a goldfish one, and put serious consideration into getting it.  However, after a nights sleep I realised that A) I hadn’t actually seen any of this guy’s work on people, and B) the design looked good on paper, but on skin, after a few years?  It was just going to be a splodge.  Still took his card for the next time I’m in Singapore though.

The main highlight over the two days however, were the tattoo competitions held each day.  There were different categories, varying from neo-classical to realistic to black and white to colour to Japanese.  The only requirement for entry was that the artist had to be at the expo.  Some of the categories only had a handful of entries (Japanese for example, only had 2 entrants) while Tattoo of the Day/Convention had closer to 30.  It’s been a long time since I’ve seen so much incredible ink – some of the art wasn’t my style, but I now have a bag full of business cards for some of the more impressive pieces.  Probably wont get another tattoo in Australia for a while, but least I know where to start next time I visit.

About Batale

I am an aspiring writer - though since I haven't written anything original in about 2 years, so calling me a writer is like calling a man who makes dinner every night a 5 star chef. I started this blog to force me to write. From the 1st January 2013, I intend to update this blog every day. If nothing interesting happens, I'll write about something that does interest me, whether that is a movie, a book, something I've heard about, or even some of my stories growing up.
This entry was posted in Australia, Diary and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

